Arab American Film and Television

This encyclopedia presents the early history Arab people and the Arab immigration to the United States, as part of a larger set of reference works.

In this landmark dictionary, Roy Armes details the scope and diversity of filmmaking across the Arab Middle East. Listing more than 550 feature films by more than 250 filmmakers, and short and documentary films by another 900 filmmakers, this volume covers the film production in Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and the Gulf States.

The rich history and culture of the Arab American people is found in the passionate works of its artists. Whether they be traditional media such as painting and calligraphy, or more sophisticated media such as digital work and installation, the pieces represent the beauty of heritage, the struggles of growing up in war-torn countries, the identity conflicts of female artists in male-dominated societies, and the issues surrounding migration to a Western culture very different from one's own.

In this unprecedented book, Rebecca Hillauer assembles a comprehensive and penetrating look into the history of Arab women's filmmaking, as well as the political and social background of the countries--Egypt, Iraq, Lebanon, Syria, Algeria, among others--from which these artists emerged.

Arranged by race/ethnic group, Multicultural Films identifies and analyzes films relating the experiences of the following groups: African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Latino/a Americans, Native Americans, and includes Intercultural films, those depicting the experiences of more than one group. After providing a plot summary of each film, the authors critique it, proposing points of focus and discussion for the viewer.

Essays on representative ethnic groups include African-Americans, American Indians, Arabs, Asian Indians, Chinese, Dominicans, Filipinos, Germans, Haitians, Irish, Italians, Jews, Koreans, Mexicans, Poles, Scandinavians, and the Vietnamese.

This comprehensive annotated bibliography reviews nearly 500 English-language studies published between 1915 and 2001 that examine the depiction of ethnic, racial, and national groups as portrayed in United States feature films from the inception of cinema through the present. Coverage includes books, reference works, book chapters within larger works, and individual essays from collections and anthologies.

The Routledge Companion to World Cinema explores and examines a global range of films and filmmakers, their movements and audiences, comparing their cultural, technological and political dynamics, identifying the impulses that constantly reshape the form and function of the cinemas of the world.

This collection includes contributions from academics and filmmakers from across the Arab region, Europe, and north America, and fills a gap in media studies by examining the entire Arab region, rather than focusing on one country or theme.

This handbook provides the first comprehensive reference book in English about the development of mass and social media in all Arab countries. Capturing the historical as well as current developments in the media scene, this collection maps the role of media in social and political movements.

Contains approximately three thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about significant people, places, and events in the history of the Middle East and North Africa. Includes coverage on "Arab American, in film industry, and "Film, Arab-American."