UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a union catalog that searches across the collections of many libraries both in the U.S. and worldwide. There is both a subscription version of the catalog from FirstSearch, as well as a freely available web version. However, WorldCat does not list the holdings of all international collections and archives, so researchers are encouraged to also explore the individual catalogs and finding aids of relevant institutions.
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
-
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Freely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
Selected Books on Arab Americans in Film and Media
-
Arab American Aesthetics: Literature, Material Culture, Film, and Theatre
by
ISBN: 9781138099814Date: 2018-02-05This book opens up the ways that we discuss Arab American literary and fine arts, so that we understand how Arab American identity and experience begets Arab American artistic enterprise. Split into three sections, the first offers a set of theoretical propositions for understanding aesthetics that traverse Arab American cultural production. The second section focuses on material culture as a way to think through the creation of objects as an aesthetic enterprise. The final section looks at narratives in theatre and how the impact of such a medium has the potential to recreate in both senses of the word: play and invention. -
Arab American Drama, Film and Performance: A Critical Study, 1908 to the Present
by
ISBN: 9781476618654Date: 2015-01-13Beginning with early Arab American playwright, poet and novelist Kahlil Gibran and concluding with contemporary playwright Yussef El Guindi, this book provides an historical overview and critical analysis of the plays, films and performances of self-identified Arab Americans. -
Arab Americans in Film: From Hollywood and Egyptian Stereotypes to Self-Representation
by
ISBN: 0815654960Date: 2020Explores the representation of Arab Americans in Hollywood and Egyptian films that results in a unique and striking revelation of identity, belonging, and cultural citizenship. Contents:
Introduction -- Hollywood's Portrayals of Arab Americans -- Images of Arab Americans in Egyptian Cinema -- Challenging Hollywood's Terrorism Syndrome -- Disrupting Egyptian Depictions of Arab Americans -- Re-Narrating the American Dream in Arab American Films -- Epilogue. -
Routledge Handbook on Arab Cinema
by
ISBN: 1032295325Date: 27 June 2024This collection includes contributions from academics and filmmakers from across the Arab region, Europe, and north America, and fills a gap in media studies by examining the entire Arab region, rather than focusing on one country or theme.
-
American Cinema in the Shadow Of 9/11
by
ISBN: 9781474413817Date: 2016-11-18Through a dynamic critical analysis of the defining films of the turbulent post-9/11 decade, the volume explores and interrogates the impact of 9/11 and the 'War on Terror' on American cinema and culture. -
Arab Americans in Film: From Hollywood and Egyptian Stereotypes to Self-Representation
by
ISBN: 0815654960Date: 2020Explores the representation of Arab Americans in Hollywood and Egyptian films that results in a unique and striking revelation of identity, belonging, and cultural citizenship. Contents:
Introduction -- Hollywood's Portrayals of Arab Americans -- Images of Arab Americans in Egyptian Cinema -- Challenging Hollywood's Terrorism Syndrome -- Disrupting Egyptian Depictions of Arab Americans -- Re-Narrating the American Dream in Arab American Films -- Epilogue. -
Captivating Westerns: The Middle East in the American West
by
ISBN: 9780803226999Date: 2015-10-01Captivating Westerns revisits popular uses of the western plot and cowboy hero in understanding American global power in the post-9/11 period. Although various attempts to build a case for the war on terror have referenced this quintessential American region, genre, and hero, they have largely overlooked the ways in which these celebrated spaces, icons, and forms, rather than being uniquely American, are instead the result of numerous encounters with and influences from the Middle East. -
Filming the Modern Middle East: politics in the cinemas of Hollywood and the Arab world
by
ISBN: 9781845111922Date: 2006-09-29. In this timely book, Lina Khatib examines how contemporary American cinema and the cinemas of the Arab world contribute to this global preoccupation in their representations of Middle Eastern politics. This examination of Hollywood as the dominant Western interpreter of the Arab World also views the Arab world in terms of how it perceives itself and others through its films. It covers films made in the USA, Egypt, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Lebanon, Syria and Palestine over the final two decades of the last century and into the present. -
Arab and Muslim Stereotyping in American Popular Culture
by
Date: 1997From the Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding, History and International Affairs (1997). Provides an overview of negative stereotypes of Arabs, Muslims, and the Middle East found in historical American films, tv shows, and other popular media. -
Arabs and Muslims in the Media: Race and Representation after 9/11
by
ISBN: 9780814738146Date: 2012-07-01Evelyn Alsultany explains that a new standard in racial and cultural representations emerged out of the multicultural movement of the 1990s that involves balancing a negative representation with a positive one, what she refers to as simplified complex representations. -
Evil Arabs in American Popular Film
by
ISBN: 9780292713413Date: 2006-09-01In this thought-provoking book, Tim Jon Semmerling dismantles the "evil" Arab stereotype by showing how American cultural fears, which stem from challenges to our national ideologies and myths, have driven us to create the "evil" Arab Other. Semmerling bases his argument on close readings of six films (The Exorcist, Rollover, Black Sunday, Three Kings, Rules of Engagement, and South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut), as well as CNN's 9/11 documentary America Remembers. -
Guilty: Hollywood's Verdict on Arabs After 9/11
by
ISBN: 9781566566841Date: 2012-12-28In his book about films made after 9/11, Shaheen finds that nearly all of Hollywood's post-9/11 films legitimize a view of Arabs as stereotyped villains and the use of Arabs and Muslims as shorthand for the "Enemy" or "Other." Along with an examination of a hundred recent movies, Shaheen addresses the cultural issues at play since 9/11: the government's public relations campaigns to win "hearts and minds" and the impact of 9/11 on citizens and on the imagination. -
Islam and the West in the Mass Media
by
ISBN: 9781572732681Date: 1999-10-31This volume presents a range of information and analysis on the relationship between the West and the Islamic world. It examines how the Western media has interpreted and misinterpreted Islam, the Arab world, and the countries of the contemporary Middle East. -
Lawrence of Arabia: A Film's Anthropology
by
ISBN: 9780520210820Date: 1999-04-13Combining ethnography, film criticism, and his extensive knowledge of the Middle East, Steven C. Caton presents an examination of the classic film, Lawrence of Arabia. The result is a many-prismed book that poses important questions of ethnographic representation and the discourse of power. Caton's approach is dialectical, and his readings of the film are situated within different historical periods, from the early 1960s to the present. Among the subjects he highlights are travel and colonialism in fieldwork and filmmaking, orientalism in the representation of the Other, and the film's ambiguous handling of masculinity and homosexuality. -
Reel Bad Arabs: How Hollywood Vilifies a People
by
ISBN: 9781566567527Date: 2012-12-31In this comprehensive study of over one thousand films, arranged alphabetically in such chapters as "Villains," "Sheikhs," "Cameos," and "Cliffhangers," Shaheen documents the tendency to portray Muslim Arabs as Public Enemy #1--brutal, heartless, uncivilized Others bent on terrorizing civilized Westerners. Shaheen examines how and why such a stereotype has grown and spread in the film industry and what may be done to change Hollywood's defamation of Arabs. -
The TV Arab
by
ISBN: 9780879723095Date: 1984-01-01Dr. Shaheen, studying over 100 different popular entertainment programs, cartoons and major documentaries telecast on network, independent and public channels, totaling nearly 200 episodes that relate to Arabs, discusses stereotypes of people from the Middle East (published 1984).
-
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
by
ISBN: 9780367646370Date: 2022-11-01Now in its sixth edition, this essential guide for students provides accessible definitions of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, world cinemas, theories and production terms. -
Film Studies: Critical Approaches
by
ISBN: 0198742800Date: 2000-02-17A team of international experts provides an overview of the main disciplinary approaches to film studies, explaining the main concepts and methods involved in film analysis, and discussing areas in detail, including important new areas such as film audiences and reception, queer theory, film and psychoanalysis, and poststructuralist debates. -
Race and Media: Critical Approaches
by
ISBN: 1479823228Date: 2020As a whole, this collection demonstrates that all forms of media -- from the sitcoms we stream to the Twitter feeds we follow -- confirm racism and reinforce its ideological frameworks, while simultaneously giving space for new modes of resistance and understanding. In each chapter, a leading media scholar elucidates a set of foundational concepts in the study of race and media--such as the burden of representation, discourses of racialization, multiculturalism, hybridity, and the visuality of race.
Library of Congress subject headings can help researchers locate related books on the same or related topics.