Skip to Main Content

Photography: Los Angeles and Southern California

Visual Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Robert Gore
Contact:
(310) 206-5426

Welcome

This guide will help you find resources on photographic activity in the Los Angeles area.

Please note that this is a selective guide designed to assist with research on Los Angeles area photography and photographers. Use the catalogs and databases on this page to search for photographers and organizations that are of interest to you. Do likewise in the library's archival and digital collections.

Created and published by Raphael Sasayama, June 2017

Selected Databases

Catalogs

Use these catalogs to search for library and archival materials.

Selected Websites

Selected Photography Subject Headings

Use the UCLA Library Catalog to find materials under these subject headings:

Photographers--California 
Photography--California 
Portrait photography--California 
Street photography--California 
Landscape photography--California 
Outdoor photography--California 
California, Southern--Pictorial works 
Los Angeles Metropolitan Area (Calif.)--Pictorial works 
Los Angeles (Calif.)--Pictorial works 
Los Angeles (Calif.)--History--Pictorial works 
Los Angeles (Calif.)--Social life and customs--20th century--Pictorial works 
Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.)--Pictorial works 
Hollywood Boulevard (Los Angeles, Calif.)--Pictorial works 
Venice (Los Angeles, Calif.)--Pictorial works 
Photograph collections--California--Los Angeles 
Photograph collections--California--Malibu 
Photograph collections--California--Pasadena--Exhibitions 
Photograph collections--California--San Diego--Periodicals 
Photograph collections--California--San Marino 
Photograph collections--California--Santa Barbara--Exhibitions