Subject Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Accessing Resources Remotely
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. - Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
Researching the Pacific Islands in the UCLA Library
This guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in Pacific Islands Studies. It contains information on selected resources from the UCLA collections, as well as provides links to materials that are freely accessible elsewhere. This guide provides information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats (e.g., microforms, films, images, etc.). (Please note that off-campus access to licensed resources requires user authentication through the VPN or proxy server.)
Note: If you have any suggestions or recommendations, please feel free to email me or leave a comment on any of the boxes in this guide.
UCLA Library Quick Links
- UCLA LibraryUCLA Library home page. Access to catalogs, databases, and information about collections, services, etc.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- Connect from Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server)Information about connecting to the campus network when off-campus. Once set up, faculty, students, and staff can access both open-access and licensed resources.
UCLA Campus Quick Links
- UCLA Asian American Studies CenterFounded in 1969, the Asian American Studies Center has played a critical role in developing Southern California’s infrastructure of social service agencies, civil rights organizations, museums, historical societies, media and cultural groups, and business associations that serve and represent the Asian American and Pacific Islander population. The Center founded the UCLA Asian American Studies Department (the largest such department in the nation), established an outstanding research library, and published the country's leading research journal as well as hundreds of scholarly monographs.
- UCLA Asian American Studies Center Library/Reading RoomInformation and resources specifically on Asian- and Pacific Islander-Americans. Materials do not circulate. Hours are limited, so check the website for location/service information.
- UCLA Department of Asian American StudiesThe Asian American Studies Department offers courses that contextualize the social, cultural, political, and economic experiences of Asians and Pacific Islanders who settled in the United States. Foci of inquiry include the legacies of colonialism and war, immigration, social marginalization, and institutionalized discrimination, as well as reinterpreted understandings of race, gender, and socioeconomic class. The department seeks to publicize research results using new media to increase the visibility of these remarkable hidden histories.
- Postcolonial Theory & Literary StudiesLooks at the literature of current and former colonies, including the Pacific Islands, with a postcolonial studies lens. Offers colloquium series.
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options. You can also make a consultation appointment with the Pacific Islands Studies librarian.