Get Help
Online Articles and Databases via UCLA Library
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 730 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. - Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts library and information science periodicals, monographs, selected state library journals, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets. Some full-text available. Topics include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation, classification, copyright, education for librarianship, employment opportunities, library schools, online searching, personnel management, preservation of materials, and publishing trends. The database also cites book reviews. - Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 80 years of citations documenting the innovations, controversies, and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and gray literature on educational research and practice from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
MIT Laboratory Periodicals
The Multimedia & Information Technology (MIT) Lab is located on the first floor of GSE&IS building. This lab supports the curriculum of the Department of Information Studies. The periodicals on this list are a combination of MIT Lab subscriptions, UCLA Library licensed jounals, and free peridicals. There is a notation if there are print holdings in the MIT Lab for a title. Periodicals are alphabetically arranged by title.
Go to MIT Lab Periodicals
Citation Management Tools
Citation or bibliographic management programs help you organize your references and create bibliographies in 100s of citation styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
An EndNote license can be purchased at the UCLA Store for downloading onto your own computer or you can use the web-based EndNote Basic at no cost. The EndNote and EndNote Basic or Zotero research guides have much more information about using these tools.
- MendeleyA free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Used mostly in the sciences.