Get Help
Reference
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, Third EditionThe third edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science (ELIS) is significantly updated from the first and second editions, with 73 percent all new content. It is designed to cover a broad spectrum of fields, including Archival Science, Bibliography, Document and Genre Theory, Informatics, Information Systems, Knowledge Management, Library and Information Science, Museum Studies, Records Management, and the Social Studies of Information.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ABELL indexed periodical articles, books, reviews, dissertations, and essays on English language, literature, bibliography, and related topics. Published 1920-2007.
- Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science (ODLIS)Online dictionary of terminology for library and information science professionals, students, and faculty.
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
Guides to Reference Sources and Trade Publications
Sources to either answer questions, verify sources or use for collection development.
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guides to Reader’s/Research Advisory Sources
Every so often, library users ask for the location of the fiction section. Most of the time, they’re looking for an area where they can browse the stacks and find recreational or leisure reading material. The College Library does have the Recent Fiction Collection and the Graphic Fiction/Nonfiction collection. The rest of the collection is in very strict LC classification order which makes it very difficult to browse. There are some sources that can be used to direct library users to their reading desires
General
Fiction
- Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction, Fifth Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Also try searching the subject headings for "fiction -- bibliography" or "Readers' advisory services United States."