Get Help
Welcome!
This guide is intended to give UCLA students, staff and faculty interested in Information Studies resources an easy-to-use jumping off point for accessing UCLA Library materials. You'll find information here on both print and electronic resources, as well as on strategies for conducting research.
This guide will always be a work in progress. If you have any suggestions for what you would like to see included please e-mail me.
Top Article Databases and Indexes for Information Science
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 730 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts library and information science periodicals, monographs, selected state library journals, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets. Some full-text available. Topics include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation, classification, copyright, education for librarianship, employment opportunities, library schools, online searching, personnel management, preservation of materials, and publishing trends. The database also cites book reviews. - Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 80 years of citations documenting the innovations, controversies, and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship. - ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966 on educational research and practice. Allows access to the full-text of most ERIC documents from 1996-present. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
Quick Links
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- UCLA Schedule of ClassesUCLA Schedule of Classes is archived online from 1997.
- UCLA Graduate Writing CenterThe Graduate Writing Center offers individual consultations and group workshops, including dissertation and master's thesis "boot camps," to all registered UCLA graduate and professional school students.