Course Reading List (Leganto) in Bruin Learn

There are five main methods of adding items to a reading list:

• Library Search: allows you to search and add items from the UCLA Library catalog.
• Blank Form: allows you to add external resources such as online articles, videos, and more. This is also where you'll make purchasing requests if you are using Leganto for course reserves.
• Upload a File: allows you to upload a file to your reading list.
• Collection: allows you to add items from your saved Leganto collection.
• Zotero: allows you to add resources from your Zotero collection directly to your reading list. This is not a default; you will need to manually add Zotero if you are interested in using this tool.

You will need to create a reading list before adding items. Please view Creating Your Reading List for more details.

1. From within your reading list, select "Add Items"
2. Select "Library Search"
3. Search for items using the search bar
   • This will search the Library Catalog (only items owned by UCLA) by default, but you can adjust the parameters by clicking the dropdown and selecting a different search scope
   • If the item is owned by UCLA, you will be able to see where the item is located, how many copies are available, and whether the item is available in physical and/or electronic format
4. Click on the item you'd like to add
5. Select "Add to: List"
6. Select which section of your reading list you'd like to add the item to
7. Hit "Add"

If you add an item that the Library only owns in print, you will be asked if you would like to request a scan of a particular chapter or article. This only applies to course reserve requests. Please see Requesting Digital Scans for more information. If you are creating a reading list without using course reserves, please select "Don't request a scan."

1. From your reading list, select "Add Items" then select "Blank Form"
2. Under "Type", select the type of item you'd like to add (website, video, journal article, etc.)
3. Fill out the information prompted by the form - required information is denoted with a red asterisk
4. If the resource you're adding is a website/online video, copy and paste the URL in the "URL" section. This generates a direct link within Leganto leading to the resource.
5. If a particular resource has multiple URLs associated with it, you may add additional ones by clicking "Add URL"
6. Select "Add to: List"
7. Select which section of your reading list you'd like to add the item to
8. Hit "Add"

Adding certain items using the blank form will prompt a pop-up asking if you would like to submit a purchase request. Please note that purchase requests are only accepted for reading lists created for course reserves. Please see Making Purchase Requests for more details.

You can also add external resources using a browser extension called CiteIt. Watch this video for more information on using the CiteIt tool.

You may upload PDF handouts, audio files, and other materials to your reading lists.

You must abide by copyright law when uploading material to your reading lists. If you upload content that is found to be in violation of copyright, it will be promptly removed. You may not download PDFs from UCLA Library's licensed online resources and upload them to your reading list. Doing so could violate the terms of the license, and will negatively impact the Library's usage statistics and budgetary decisions.

To upload a file:

1. From your reading list, select "Add Items", then "Upload a File"
2. You may either drag and drop a file onto the page or you can click on the file upload section and browse for a file
3. You will then be prompted to fill in information about the resource
4. Select "Add to: List"
5. Select which section of your reading list you'd like to add the item to
6. Hit "Add"

The Collection function in Leganto allows you to bookmark resources for later use. It is helpful for saving resources that you use frequently or will be adding to multiple reading lists. Any items that you add to your Collection can be added easily to any of your reading lists. Your Collection can only be seen by you.

To add items to your Collection:

1. Go to your course site and select "Course Reading List"
2. Select the navigation menu in the upper left corner, on the left side of the UCLA Library logo
3. Select "Collection"
4. Select "Add Items"
5. Add items to your collection from the Library Catalog, or you can upload a file or add an external resource using the blank form
6. You can also add citations to your Collection using the CiteIt tool

To add items from your Collection to a reading list:

1. From your reading list, select "Add Items", then "Collection"
2. Select the resource you'd like to add
3. Select "Add to: List"
4. Select which section of your reading list you'd like to add the item to
5. Hit "Add"

If you would like to add items from your Zotero collection directly to your reading list, you can link your Zotero account to Leganto. Please visit this page for instructions on linking Zotero to Leganto.