Research Visibility

Do I need to fill out so many profiles?
 

• Creating an online profile is a professional obligation in this day and age. (However, for researchers engaged in animal research, it may serve as secondary to yours and your loved ones' security.)
   
• A centralized system for profile information is on the near horizon. UCLA has a plan to implement OPUS and there will be a tool which will allow faculty to create dossiers, CVs, biosketches, and other documents on the fly, providing different views of their data for different audiences. VIVO is the intended target for this public profile information

See ORCID

ResearchGate "connects researchers and makes it easy for them to share and access scientific output, knowledge, and expertise."

• Free social networking website touted as a “Facebook for scientists” and a mashup of Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn.
• Includes semantic searching of abstracts and external research databases, and can use an entire abstract for search terms.
• Allows blogs and provides automated suggestions for groups, other members, and literature based on research interests.
• Includes 1,100 groups and file sharing tools.

Academia.edu is a platform for academics to share research papers. The company's mission is to accelerate the world's research.

Academics use Academia.edu to share their research, monitor deep analytics around the impact of their research, and track the research of academics they follow. 25,327,481 academics have signed up to Academia.edu, adding 6,710,289 papers and 1,713,974 research interests. Academia.edu attracts over 36 million unique visitors a month.

You will be notified when someone looks at your profile.  It will say, "Someone just searched for you on Google and found your profile page on Academia.org.  To see what city the search came from, follow the link below." 

By using the MyResearcherID feature in Web of Science (Web of Knowledge), researchers are assigned an individual ID number that stays with them, regardless on institutional affiliation, thus allowing their research to be more easily tracked.

Once your MyResearcherID is created, your publications listed in the Web of Science database are added to your profile - thus ensuring accuracy in tracking your publication history and making it faster to track how your work is cited. 

Publications can be added to ResearcherID from Web of Knowledge by selecting the “I Wrote These Publications” button.

How to export Web of Science publications into ORCID?

• Login or register for ResearcherID
• Click on ResearcherID
• Select the appropriate action: To associate your ORCID with your ResearcherID account
• Click Continue
• Login to ORCID
• Click Authorise for the data exchange between the two systems. This will return you to ResearcherID
• Decide “What data would you like to exchange between ResearcherID and ORCID?” e.g. Profile ID, Send ResearcherID publications into my ORCID account, or Retrieve ORCID publications into my ResearcherID account
• Select: Send ResearcherID publications to my ORCID account.
• Click Send. This will send 100 publications at a time.
• Grants & patents are not at the moment accepted by ORCID
• Delete duplicates
• ORCID does not track citations. Times Cited will not display in ORCID.

Scopus Author Identifier distinguishes between similar names by assigning each author in Scopus a unique number and grouping together all of the documents written by that author.

For more information see Scopus Author Identifier. 

How to import Scopus publications into ORCID?

• Login to your ORCID record. 
• Click on "Import Research Activities" and then "Scopus to ORCID".
• Follow the on screen prompts to send your Scopus ID and papers to ORCID.
• Click  Authorise
• Select your Scopus profiles

At Scopus, it is easy for researchers to freely import their research papers to ORCID through a direct link on the author detail page, shown as follows:

ISNI is the ISO certified global standard number for identifying the millions of contributors to creative works and those active in their distribution, including researchers, inventors, writers, artists, visual creators, performers, producers, publishers, aggregators, and more. It is part of a family of international standard identifiers that includes identifiers of works, recordings, products and right holders in all repertoires, e.g. DOI, ISAN, ISBN, ISRC, ISSN, ISTC, and ISWC.

Creating a Google Scholar Citation profile will make sure that Google Scholar will easily and accurately group all the citations of your publications into one pool. A profile generally lists your name, chosen keywords of research interest, generated citation metrics, and citations (including links to citing articles).

In order to create a Google Scholar Citation profile, you need a Google Account. Once the profile is set up, it will automatically update.

For more information see the Google Scholar Citations help page.

How to create the profile?

1. Sign to your Google account, or create one if you don't have one.
2. After you sign in, the Citations sign up form will ask you to confirm the spelling of your name, to enter your affiliation, etc.
3. On the next page, you will see a list of articles. Add the articles that are yours.
4. Once you're done with adding articles, it will ask you what to do when the article data changes in Google Scholar. You can either have the updates applied to your profile automatically or you can choose to review them beforehand.
5. Finally, you will see your profile.Once you are satisfied with the results, make your profile public.

• LinkedIn : considered the authoritative profile for professionals, although not used on a daily basis by most users. Combines work experience, education, relationships, recommendations, etc., in a single place. Users can explicitly list skills and search terms to locate professionals in their areas of interest.
• Facebook: considered the top profile application for non-professional use; users make frequent/daily updates to their profiles. Public and private organizations have Facebook pages or accounts, but this service is used as a more personal networking site by a large majority of users. Profiles can include work and education information, as well as personal interests and hobbies.
• Google Profiles: includes simple profile information without social networking features. Allows for linking various social networking accounts into a single location. Of the several sites that enable this, Google Profiles is the most ubiquitous, allowing for automatic association of many accounts. A recent design update has a layout similar to Facebook’s highly relevant search capabilities. Auto-suggestion of Google Profile pages when searching for names has been included in the past. Because Google is pervasive in including large amounts of data about people, this profile offering is significant.
• About.me: is a new class of profile page that has recently gained popularity. Includes a single page with a picture, short bio and links to other social networking sites. Similar sites do not seem to be as visible as About.me. Users are encouraged to include a picture that captures the essence of their personality.
• Gravatar: similar to Google Profiles, this site began as a way to sync one’s photo across social networks and other websites. However, verified links to other social applications have 206 E.G. Coppock and L. Davis / Status of the adoption of social media in the scientific research community been added. While Google Profiles allows the user to list any links, Gravatar has the additional benefit of requiring log in to verify that the user actually owns each account. The team defined a good social profile application as one that gives a good snapshot view of a person’s interests and experience. It should also serve as a centralized identity, linking other more specialized niche networks.