Industry Resources Not Accessible via UCLA
The UCLA Library does not license databases and other online resources that can't be accessed by IP address for the campus community, and that require a unique individual password. Some industry data tools and directories are in this category, including:
- Nielsen reports
- Baseline
- IMDb Pro
- Variety Ultimate
- iSpot.tv
Current Industry Articles in Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with full text and indexing from reference works and magazines dating as far back as 1975. Includes biographies and several magazines of interest to media scholars, including TV Guide indexing. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.
Historic Entertainment Industry Magazines Online
Major digitization projects that include historic entertainment magazines previously unavailable online.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
Contemporary Websites and Blogs
Most of these sites have Twitter, Facebook, and/or RSS feeds, allowing you to follow news more easily. They are useful for contemporary news only. For older content, use print editions of publications and databases listed under "Historical Entertainment Industry Magazines Online."
- VarietyThe Variety website allows you to freely search articles from the magazine from 2003-present. See the separate guide page on Variety for information on more content.
- A.V. ClubA non-parody entertainment news site from The Onion.
- Advertising AgeWebsite of the advertising publication. Includes only recent articles.
- AdweekSource of news for marketing, media, and advertising professionals.
- Broadcasting & Cable**Note that some articles are blocked behind a pay wall on the website. You can often get these articles via databases like LexisNexis and Factiva.
- CinemaBlendContains entertainment industry news and editorials, including gaming news.
- Company Town (Los Angeles Times)LA Times blog devoted to entertainment industry news.
- Deadline HollywoodIndustry news site, originally created by Nikke Finke in 2006 and now owned by publishing company PMC.
- EW.com (Entertainment Weekly)Entertainment Weekly's website contains some news blogs that are separate from the print magazine's contents.
- Los Angeles Business JournalContains useful articles on L.A.-focused business news, including the entertainment industry (theaters and exhibition, technology, business leaders, etc.). The UCLA Management Library also has print issues available.
- Media Decoder (New York Times)NY Times blog focused on the media industry.
- MovielineMovie previews, reviews, and news.
- Rapid TV NewsStarted in 2007, this site is an online daily news service for the television industry. Reports on broadcast technology, information, analysis, and more.
- Speakeasy (Wall Street Journal)The entertainment news blog for WSJ.
- SSN InsiderThis free, twice-daily newsletter from Baseline provides a synopsis of industry news. The UCLA Library does NOT have access to Baseline's data resources.
- TV Guide.comRecent articles only.
- TVLineTV news, original previews and recaps/reviews.
- Vulture (New York Magazine)Vulture reports on entertainment news and gossip, and is part of New York Magazine's online presence.
Selected Entertainment Industry Magazines at UCLA
Below are catalog records for major film industry periodicals held in the UCLA Library. While some have selected content online, full historical issues are often only available in print or via microfilm. The Library houses many more magazines and journals pertaining to the consumption and study of media, but the publications below specifically cover the industry and business of production to some extent.
- Daily Variety (1948-2013)Ceased as a daily title in 2013.
Other Los Angeles Libraries
Few libraries have completely comprehensive print runs of historical trade magazines. Other libraries in L.A. with trades that may complement holdings at UCLA include the Herrick Library and USC.