See Also!
- Playwriting and Screenwriting ResourcesUCLA Library research guide with additional information about books, databases, and tools related to the practice of playwriting and screenwriting.
Contact Information
- Contact UCLA Library Special CollectionsUnpublished film and television scripts.
- Library Special Collections: Plan a VisitInformation on requesting Special Collections materials via the AEON system, and other logistics for visitors.
- Contact the Librarian for Film and TelevisionPublished scripts and online collections.
Finding Print Screenplays at UCLA and Other Local Archives
UCLA Library Special Collections houses unpublished copies and original scripts for both film and television. Most of these scripts are not listed in the Library Catalog by title, so it works best to use Special Collections scripts finding aids to identify them. Additional unpublished scripts may be available as part of specific archival collections. These scripts must be used in Library Special Collections. Please contact them directly for duplication requests.
- Search UCLA Library Special Collections Motion Picture ScriptsPrimarily American film scripts dating from ca. 1921 to the present. Includes scripts from various studios including Columbia Pictures, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Paramount, RKO Universal, United Artists, and Warner Brothers.
- Search UCLA Library Special Collections Television Series ScriptsThis collection includes scripts from American television production from the early beginnings of television to the present.
- Search UCLA Library Special Collections Television Film ScriptsIncludes scripts for television movies broadcast on various networks including ABC, CBS, HBO, NBC, and Showtime. Also includes a small collection of scripts for television specials and mini-series. The bulk of the collection dates from the 1970s.
- Film Titles Represented in Library Special CollectionsA list of available materials by film title, including screenplays.
- Television Shows Represented in UCLA Library Special CollectionsA list of available materials by show title, including scripts.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowSearches finding aids for additional archival content, including scripts in individual collections that may not be included in the finding aids above.
The UCLA Arts Library collects commercially published scripts (book format) only and shelves them together for browsing on the entry level floor. These scripts are available for regular loan.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Search Tips for Searching the UCLA Library Catalog:
The UCLA Library collects commercially published scripts, most of which are final shooting scripts. Many of these are housed in the Arts Library as part of the Selected Film and Television Scripts collection, which is circulating. Some scripts and screenplays will also be available at other UCLA libraries or SRLF, particularly foreign language scripts. Due to historical inconsistencies in cataloging practice, not every script will have a uniform subject heading or any heading at all. For scripts in Library Special Collections, please see finding aids in the box above.
Some hints on using the UC Library Search to find titles:
- If you are looking for a specific title and get too many hits, also search by the name of the screenwriter or author (NOT the director). This often helps narrow down hits quickly.
- To browse screenplays, try a more general Subject search for the term "Motion picture plays." Note that books about screenwriting also have "motion picture plays" as a subject heading.
- However, keep in mind that many published scripts (especially for television) have no subject heading at all, and will only have the words "script," "scripts," "film script," "shooting script," "final shooting script," or "screenplay" in the title or keywords. You can alternatively do a subject search for the name of a film or program, and this will sometimes produce a title that includes the script.
Though some screenplays and TV scripts have been published, this is often not the case. Additionally, earlier drafts and revisions are typically not available in published form. Such materials are typically held in special collections and archives.
- Margaret Herrick Library ScriptsIncludes scripts for more than 15,000 produced films spanning the years 1910 to the present. In addition to screenplays for thousands of American feature films, the Script Collection also includes screenplays for silent productions, foreign language films, documentaries, animated features and shorts.
- Margaret Herrick Library Motion Picture Scripts DatabaseIncludes listings for scripts held at the Herrick Library, as well as five other collections in the Los Angeles area. Note: this database is no longer updated, so researchers should also search individual library catalogs.
- Writers Guild Foundation LibraryIncludes a collection of scripts and other materials related to writers and writing.
- Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowSome scripts are available as part of a specific individual's papers or other archival collections. The Online Archive of California finding aids can assist in identifying these scripts.
- American Radio Archives (ARA)Located at UC Santa Barbara and formerly housed at the Thousand Oaks Public Library, the ARA includes numerous papers and show scripts from the history of radio in the United States.
- Autry Libraries and ArchivesAt the Autry National Center. Includes large collection of Western TV scripts.
- Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library (Los Angeles Public)Includes about 2500 unpublished film and television scripts.
- Louis B. Mayer Library (AFI)Includes over 5000 scripts from motion pictures. Holdings are reflected in the Herrick Library's Motion Picture Scripts Database.
- Loyola Marymount Film and Television Screenplay CollectionScreenplays from 1924-2005 housed at Loyola Marymount's Department of Special Collections and Archives. Inventory list available in online finding aid.
- USC Cinematic Arts LibraryUSC owns many film and television scripts in the Louis B. Mayer Study Center Collection, particularly from the 1940s onward.
- ArchiveGrid
This link opens in a new window
Searches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. - Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas AustinThe Harry Ransom Center contains numerous important collections related to film, including the vast Selznick Collection.
- New York Public Library Archives and ManuscriptsNYPL holds many film, television, and playscripts.
Sometimes, scripts are not published separately as a stand alone book. However, some screenwriting magazines or anthologies do publish scripts in their entirety. The UCLA Library historically subscribed to a number of these magazines, including Scenario, Creative Screenwriting, Hollywood Scriptwriter, and Scr(i)pt. One way to access scripts in these, other than browsing, is to search in a database or print resource that indexes screenplays.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search using film title and the author field of the script/screenplay, to locate any titles printed in entertainment trade publications.
Online sellers of scripts; drafts/versions available may vary.
- Script FlySeller of movie scripts and drafts.
- Script CitySells many scripts, though variable on which draft is available.
- Collecting Film ScriptsFrom the Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America, information on collecting original copies of film scripts.
Online Scripts from UCLA E-Resources
- Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film Scripts Online (volumes I and II) contains full text of copyrighted screenplays, with additional information on scenes, characters and individuals. - Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers searchable access to screenplays, reference works, and books on cinema, including coverage of techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting. Part of Bloomsbury Screen Studies. UCLA provides access to core content and 2019-2023 annual updates.
Browse screenplays only via this link. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search using film title and the author field of the script/screenplay, to locate any titles printed in entertainment trade publications.
- Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse screenplays only via this link.
- The French Dispatch (2021)
- This link opens in a new window
- Tenet (2020)
- This link opens in a new window
- Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (2017)
- This link opens in a new window
- Succession: The Official Scripts, Season One (2023)
- This link opens in a new window
- Succession: The Official Scripts, Season Two (2023)
- This link opens in a new window
- Succession: Season Four: The Complete Scripts (2023)
- This link opens in a new window
Scripts and Transcripts on the Internet
Free internet sources for scripts and transcripts. Some of these sites aren't "official" repositories by screenwriters or studios, and may contain early drafts rather than the final shooting script.
- Scripts on ScreenMovie script search engine with over 8,500 films indexed from 300+ sites.
- Awesome FilmSeveral dozen film scripts, listed alphabetically in a mix of formats and drafts.
- BBC Script LibraryDownloadable BBC scripts from radio, television, and film. Titles include Brooklyn, An Education, Jane Eyre, and selected scripts from Doctor Who.
- The Daily ScriptOnline drafts of film and television scripts.
- Deadline: Read the Screenplay SeriesThough primarily an entertainment industry news site, Deadline occasionally posts new film scripts online through the "Read the Screenplay" tag.
- Drew's Script-O-RamaFree site with a range of film and television scripts (in varying drafts) and transcripts. Quality also varies, but worth checking for unpublished content.
- 50 of the Best Screenplays to Read and Download in Every Genre (Script Reader Pro)Downloadable scripts for contemporary films in five main genre categories: Drama, Comedy, Action/Adventure, Thriller and Horror.
- Go Into the StoryFrom The Blacklist, including a list of downloadable movie scripts.
- Horror LairOnline horror film scripts and transcripts.
- Internet Movie Script DatabaseFree script database with mostly contemporary film script drafts. Warning: the site does have multiple pop-up ads.
- Motion Picture Copyright Descriptions CollectionForms, abstracts, plot summaries, dialogue and continuity scripts, press kits, publicity and other material, submitted for the purpose of enabling descriptive cataloging for motion pictures registered with the United States Copyright Office under classes L and M from 1912-1977, and under class PA thereafter.
- Movie Scripts and ScreenplaysBroad selection of movie scripts from different time periods, including a mix of early drafts and shooting scripts.
- Pop MysticWhile not a traditional script copy resource, this database is a TV and movie quote search engine that searches for any quote or line of dialogue from thousands of movies and tv shows.
- Sci Fi Scripts.comOnline science fiction film and television scripts, in various stages of drafts.
- Screenplay DatabaseSeveral hundred screenplays, including a number of more contemporary films.
- Screenplays for YouSelection of screenplays and some transcripts online.
- The Script Lab: Screenplay LibraryHundreds of film and television scripts for educational and research use. Requires creating a free login to access content.
- Script SavantOffers services for script writers, as well as freely available online film and television scripts.
- Scripts.comMovie scripts, screenplays and transcripts from screen writers, collaboratively published by amateur script writers and contributing editors.
- Script SlugHundreds of film scripts online.
- Shore Scripts: Genre Screenplay CollectionCurated list of downloadable screenplays in categories of drama, romance, action, sci-fi, horror, thriller, comedy, and animation.
- SimplyScriptsFree internet resource with downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of movies, television, and radio. Also includes some treatments.
- The Star Trek TranscriptsTranscripts from multiple Star Trek series and movies, as well as Doctor Who seasons.
- Subtitles like ScriptsSubtitles for a small number of international films and television shows.
- TaleFlickA submission site for screenwriters and studios, with added editorial assistance. Login is required, and submission is fee-based.
- TV & Movie TranscriptsSelected transcripts from film and television, including some international titles.
- TV Calling Script LibraryIncludes "TV scripts, and occasionally a few pitches, outlines and bibles."
- TV WritingIncludes online scripts for U.S. and U.K. television programs.