Matthew Vest
Jewish Music in Los Angeles Research Resources
Klezmers on the Moon, Chaim Goldberg
The UCLA Library Special Collections holds a large amount of primary source materials pertaining to Jewish music in Los Angeles. This guide is intended as a starting place to point researchers to these materials and also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings. If you have questions or comments about the guide, please contact the Performing Arts Curator, Peggy Alexander.
Hanukkah Music
Hanukkah Sheet Music
All titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.
Chanukah Licht = Di Hanukah Likht = Chanuka Lights, 1937, box 525
Hanukha Folks-Lied = Chanukah Folk Song, 1947, box 407
Happy Hanukkah, My Friend, 1992, box 479
Mi Y'malel = Who Can Retell, 1949, box 525
Composers Collections
- Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco Collection of Musical Works , ca.1920-ca.1980Collection consists of published scores and reproductions of manuscripts.
- Aaron Copland Collection of Motion Picture MusicOzalid copies of conductor's scores of original music for the motion pictures "The North Star" (1943), and "The Red Pony" (1949). Includes piano score for the song "No Village Like Mine," with music by Copland and words by Ira Gershwin.
- Nat Farber television show music arrangements, 1955-1975The collection consists of manuscript scores for arrangements by Nat Farber and others for The Carol Burnett Show, The Danny Kaye Show, The Dinah Shore Chevy Show, and other productions. Also included are scripts and rehearsal schedules for The Carol Burnett Show.
- Bernard Herrmann Collection of Music for Film, Television, and Radio Productions, 1935-1969The collection consists of manuscripts, ozalid masters and copies, scores and parts of radio, television, and film music. Includes arrangements used in CBS Crime Classics radio show and music from the following films: Battle of Neretva, Jason and the Argonauts, The Kentuckian, Marnie, North by Northwest, Psycho, The Snows of Kilimanjaro, and The Trouble with Harry. Also includes selections from Herrmann's Opera, Wuthering Heights, and his Nocturne and Scherzo for orchestra.
- Walter Jurmann papers, [1910]-1995Collection consists of material related to career of the composer Walter Jurmann, including scores, lyrics, business and personal papers, correspondence, photographs, and biographic items.
- Alfred Leonard and Joseph Leonard Collection, 1902-2001This collection documents the musical activities and compositions of the brothers Alfred and Joseph Leonard.
- Eddy Manson Collection 1945-1996
The collection consists of materials created by and belonging to composer and harmonica virtuoso, Eddie Manson. Included are: music manuscripts; correspondence; business papers, and sound recordings pertaining to music for film and television, concert music, and Jewish service music. - Alex North Collection of Motion Picture Music , 1951-1969This collection consists of holograph scores with occasional holograph music notes.
- Joseph Rumshinsky papers
Joseph Rumshinsky was known as one of the founders of the American Yiddish musical stage. The collection consists of predominantly of original and reproduced manuscripts of scores and parts of stage shows and operettas, songs, dance music, and religious pieces. Additionally there are clippings and typescript materials, including synopses, scripts, obituaries, and testimonials. - Hans J. Salter Collection 1935-1982The collection consists of music, personal papers, correspondence, photographs, production materials, business papers and periodical clippings of one of Universal Pictures' film composers, Hans J. Salter. The various kinds of music are manuscript and published music including conductor's scores, orchestral parts, sheet music, published music books, and sound recordings on 7", 10", and 12" sound discs, 7" and 10" open reel analog tapes, and sound cassettes.
- Arnold Schoenberg Collection of Correspondence, Photographs, and Papers, 1899-1951Collection consists of materials relating mostly to Schoenberg's career at UCLA, including his University of California biography form, and letters to and from Schoenberg, his friends and UCLA colleagues, and his family. Includes miscellaneous photographs, some inscribed, of Schoenberg and others, and clippings relating to his music and career. Also contains a photocopy of the manuscript of Mailied (1899), the original of which is housed in the UCLA Dept. of Special Collections.
- Harry Tobias Collection , 1925-1994This collection consists of manuscripts and published sheet music, lyric sheets, correspondence and other documents, and sound recordings
- Vic Mizzy Film and Television Music Collection Approximately 1963-2004The collection consists of Vic Mizzy musical scores written for television shows, most notably the Addams Family and Green Acres. Also, scores for three feature films, and two television movies. Six CD sound recordings are in the collection, including the New Spiderman Theme written for the DVD release of the film Spiderman 2. The collection is in the midst of being processed and the finding aid will be updated periodically.
- Herschel Burke Gilbert Collection of Motion Picture and Television Music 1946-1969The collection consists of manuscript scores (holographs or copies) and open reel tapes of music composed by Herschel Gilbert for television series and motion pictures, and includes some related materials such as parts, cues, lyrics sheets, and sketches.
- Eugene Riese papers, 1894-1966; 1957-1965 bulkThis collection consists of manuscript and published vocal scores for religious (Christian and Jewish) and secular songs. Also included are a few personal materials belonging to Eugene Riese.
- Ernst Toch Archive ca. 1835-1988The Collection consists of materials relating to the Austrian-American composer, Ernst Toch. Included are music manuscripts and scores, books of his personal library, manuscripts, biographical material, correspondence, articles, essays, speeches, lectures, programs, clippings, photographs, sound recordings, financial records, and memorabilia. Also included are manuscripts and published works of other composers, as well as Lilly Toch's letters and lectures.
- Eric Zeisl PapersZeisl's music manuscripts, published scores, correspondence, documents, recordings, and other materials.
- Eugene Zador Collection of music manuscripts , ca. 1955-1965This collection consists of autographed manuscripts of orchestral works.
- Manuel Compinsky Oral History Interview
Interview of the musician and composer. - Alice Ehlers Oral History Interview
Interview with the Austrian-born American harpsichordist and teacher. - Roy Harris Oral History Interview
Interview with the composer - Mel Powell Oral History InterviewInterview with the American jazz pianist, composer and music educator
Performers Collections
- Eddie Cantor Papers, 1915-1964
Eddie Cantor (1892-1964) was a vaudeville performer and singing waiter. He turned to radio in the 1930s and was the highest paid radio star by 1936. The collection consists of radio and television scripts, sheet music, orchestrations, photographs, awards, tributes, correspondence, and scrapbooks. - Fanny Brice papers, 1937-1945
Fanny Brice earned a reputation as a vaudeville star before creating some of her best-loved comedic personae for radio. The bulk of the collection consists of Baby Snooks scripts representing the radio programs Maxwell House presents good news, Maxwell House coffee time, Maxwell House iced coffee time, Post Toasties time, and Toasties time. Additionally, there are a small amount of photographs, typed manuscript pages for what appears to be Brice's autobiography, and Frank Morgan spots and annotated scripts. - Feri Roth Oral History Interview
Interview with the Hungarian born violinist and educator - Joanna Graudan Oral History Interview
Interview with the concert pianist - Louis Kaufman Oral History Interview
Interview with the American violinist - Nicolas Slonimsky Oral History Interview
Interview with the Russian-born American conductor, composer, author, pianist and lexicographer - Pia Gilbert Oral History Interview
Interview with the pianist. - Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gormé Collection
This collection consists of folios, stage band arrangements and sound recordings
Herb Alpert: A&M Records Collection
Music Administrators, Lyricists, Critics, Producers, Conductors
- Dorothy Huttenback Papers, 1941-1977Dorothy Huttenback (1896-1987) was the manager of the Music Guild of Los Angeles (1952- ), which brought well-known chamber music ensembles and artists to the Wilshire Ebell Theater. She served for 33 years as president of the organization. The collection consists of correspondence between Huttenback and various persons in the music world, some photographs and ephemera.
- Dorothy Huttenback InterviewInterview with the Music Guild of Los Angeles manager.
- Ernest Fleischmann Oral History Interview
Interview with the Exec. VP and managing director of the LA Philharmonic Assoc., Hollywood Bowl and Artistic Dir. of the Ojai Festival - Albert Goldberg Collection of scrapbooks and clippings , 1925-1986This collection consists of scrapbooks and clippings of concert reviews, other printed articles, and materials relating to the Illinois WPA Music Project
- Albert Goldberg Oral History InterviewInterview with the music critic
- Jerry Moss Oral History Interview
Interview with the American recording executive and co-founder of A&M Records.
Yascha Borwosky, Conductor of the Los Angeles Biltmore Concert Orchestra (in Sheet Music Collection, Box 1120, "You Understand and I Love You")
Film and Television Music
Unless otherwise indicated, all titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection.
Harold Arlen
- Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive (from Here Come the Waves) in Sheet Music Collection Box 875
- Blues in the Night (My Mama Done Tol' Me),in Sheet Music Collection Box 1941, 859
- Calypso Song (from The PrettyGirl), in Sheet Music Collection Box 391
- For Every Man There’s a Woman (from Casbah),in Sheet Music Collection Box 65
- Happiness is a Thing Called Joe (from Cabin in the Sky) in Sheet Music Collection Box 48
- Man That Got Away (from A Star is Born), in Sheet Music Collection Box 158
- My Shining Hour (from The Sky’s the Limit), in Sheet Music Collection Box 876
- Now I Know (from Up in Arms), in Sheet Music Collection Box 231
- That Old Black Magic (from Star Spangled Rhythm), in Sheet Music Collection Box 875
Kenneth Ascher
- Rainbow Connection (from The Muppet Movie) in Sheet Music Collection Box 116
Jewish Themed Sheet Music
Sound Recordings of highlighted titles are available through the UC Santa Barbara Cylinder Archive, the UCLA Naxos Music Library or the Florida Atlantic University Recorded Sound Archives.
Unless otherwise indicated, all titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection.
- Abie, Take an Example From Your Fader, 1909, box 15
- Abie's Got a Irish Molly O, 1911, box15
- Af bri, 1927, box 525
- Aliahu Hanavi, 1927, box 866
- Alu leeretz avot, 1951, box 866
- Amar ad' lYaḳov, 1928, box 866
- At the Yiddish Cabaret, box 4446
- Avaṭiḥim, 1948, box 866
- Becky's Got a Job in a Musical Show, box 1264
- Belle of Avenoo A, box 2046
- Cohen Owes Me Ninety Seven Dollars, 1915, box 1150, 2181
- Cohen's Yiddasha Band, box 2115
- Die Greene Kosine, box 604
- The Dish Washer, 1934, box 604
- Happy Mose, box 1495
- In a Little Jewish Town in A & M Records Collection of Business Papers, Sound Recordings, Music Manuscripts and memorabilia, 1969-1992
- In That Little Irish Home Sweet Home, 1921, box 386
- Jewish Dance Folio no. 5, box 603
- Jewish Selection no. 2, box 603
- Liebes Schmertzen = Love's Sorrow box 604
- Little Sharon Goldfarb, 1973, box1077
- Mein Yiddishe Meidele, 1948, box 604
- Melancholy Mose, box 1736
- Missus Mose Has a Million Beaus (Since Old Man Mose is Dead), Box NSPC 54
- Moysha Machree: They're Proud of Their Irisher Yiddisher Boy, box 2116
- My Yiddisha Butterfly, box 2130
- My Yiddisha Mammy, box 321
- My Yiddisha Momme, 1925, box 592
- My Yiddisher Bloonde, box 1447
- My Yiddishe Momme, 1925, box 1122
- Mysterious Mose, box 1519
- Oy, S'is Gut, box 604
- Potpourri (Jewish Folk Songs), 1929, box 407
- Rambling Mose, box 1569
- Sadie Harrovitch (Tell Me Which is Which), 1920, box 1016
- Since Yussel Learned to Yodel He's a Yiddishe Mountaineer, box 1028
- Sug Es Mir Noch a Mul, box 604
- That's Yiddisha Love, box 1944
- Vol vistu gaily star : the song of the lucky charm , box 1424
- Vu Nemt Men Parnuse, box 604
- When Mose With His Nose Leads the Band, box 1222
- Wus Geve is Geven = Memories of Days Gone By, box 604
- Yiddle On Your Fiddle, Play Some Ragtime, box 2022
- Yiddisha Army Blues, box 1983
- Yiddisha Charleston, box 2022
- Yiddisha Rag, box 1983
- Yonkle the Cow Boy Jew, box 1983
- You Might Be But I Don't Know, box 1192
Image Collections
- Motion Picture Stills Collection, 1903-
The collection primarily consists of American motion picture stills, which includes black and white photographs, as well as some color prints, slides, and publicity stills from various studios. (pictured: The Jazz Singer) - Collection of Motion PIcture Lobby Cards, 1913-
The collection consists of primarily of American motion picture lobby cards dating from 1913 to ca. 1980s. (pictured: Fiddler on the Roof) - Collection of Motion Picture Posters, 1924-1996
Motion picture posters have been used to publicize movies almost since the beginning of the film industry. The collection consists of primarily American film posters for films produced by various studios including Columbia Pictures, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Paramount, Universal, United Artists, and Warner Brothers, among others. (pictured: Yentl) - James Arkatov Photograph Collection
The collection consists of photographs of musicians and fine artists taken by the cellist, James Arkatov. (pictured: Mel Tormé) - Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive
Photonegatives and photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U.S., and the world. Materials originate from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (ca. 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (ca. 1925-45), and safety negatives (ca. 1935-1990). The collection also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus. (pictured: actress Judy Holliday with telegram in her dressing room before opening of the 22nd season of the Los Angeles Civic Light Opera)