Daily Bruin Access
The UCLA Daily Bruin is the student newspaper, published by and for UCLA students.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- Daily Bruin Microfilm (digitized)The microfilm of the UCLA Daily Bruin has been digitized by the Internet Archive from 1915 through 2002.
- Daily Bruin ArchiveDigitized issues of the Daily Bruin from 1915 to the present.
Online Current Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with current newspaper content from the last few years. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes a range of recent full text international newspapers and industry/company news.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new windowWorld news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
- Times (London) [recent]last 20 years, selected article text in LexisNexis Academic
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new windowDigest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.
Online Historical Newspapers
UCLA subscribes to a number of databases with historical newspaper content. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the US. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.
- Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new windowDigest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowProvides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
- Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new windowWorld news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.