Modern Literature Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
The Bloomsbury Companion to Modernist Literature by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781780935003Date: 2018In this book, leading international scholars explore the major ideas and debates that have made the study of modernist literature one of the most vibrant areas of literary studies today. The Bloomsbury Companion to Modernist Literature offers a comprehensive guide to current research in the field, covering topics including: · The modernist everyday: emotion, myth, geographies and language scepticism · Modernist literature and the arts: music, the visual arts, cinema and popular culture· Textual and archival approaches: manuscripts, genetic criticism and modernist magazines· Modernist literature and science: sexology, neurology, psychology, technology and the theory of relativity· The geopolitics of modernism: globalization, politics and economics· Resources: keywords and an annotated bibliography
The Cambridge Companion to the Modernist Novel by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PN3503 .C25 2007 YRLISBN: 9780521670746Date: 2007The novel is modernism's most vital and experimental genre. In this 2007 Companion leading critics explore the very significant pleasures of reading modernist novels, but also demonstrate how and why reading modernist fiction can be difficult. No one technique or style defines a novel as modernist. Instead, these essays explain the formal innovations, stylistic preferences and thematic concerns which unite modernist fiction. They also show how modernist novels relate to other forms of art, and to the social and cultural context from which they emerged. Alongside chapters on prominent novelists such as James Joyce and Virginia Woolf, as well as lesser-known authors such as Dorothy Richardson and Djuna Barnes, themes such as genre and geography, time and consciousness are discussed in detail. With a chronology and guide to further reading, this is the most accessible and informative overview of the genre available.
A History of the Modernist Novel by Call Number: PN56.M54 H57 2015 YRLISBN: 1107034957Date: 2015A History of the Modernist Novel reassesses the modernist canon and produces a wealth of new comparative analyses that radically revise the novel's history. Drawing on American, English, Irish, Russian, French and German traditions, leading scholars challenge existing attitudes about realism and modernism and draw new attention to everyday life and everyday objects. In addition to its exploration of new forms such as the modernist genre novel and experimental historical novel, this book considers the novel in postcolonial, transnational and cosmopolitan contexts. A History of the Modernist Novel also considers the novel's global reach while suggesting that the epoch of modernism is not yet finished.
Modernism and Literature: An Introduction and Reader by Call Number: PN56.M54 M63 2013 YRLISBN: 9780415581639Date: 2013This volume offers a comprehensive representation of the exciting, pivotal, and urgent nature of literary Modernism, as well as more recent approaches including the "global turn." Modernism can be difficult to understand without an awareness of contemporary concerns, so Mia Carter and Alan Friedman incorporate texts from a wide variety of disciplines such as art, politics, science, medicine, and philosophy. This volume's thoroughly explained, informative, and interesting discussions provide an extensive introduction outlining the history and debates surrounding the movement. Addressing current as well as historical debates about Modernism, this book includes discussion of the Harlem Renaissance, feminism and women's writing, international and global movements and anti-imperialism, while acknowledging the variety of competing modernisms.
Modernism in a Global Context by Call Number: PN56.M54 K35 2016 YRLISBN: 9781472569646Date: 2015Exploring the transnational dimension of literary modernism and its increasing centrality to our understanding of 20th-century literary culture, Modernism in a Global Context surveys the key issues and debates central to the 'global turn' in contemporary Modernist Studies. Topics covered include: - Transnational exchanges between Western and non-Western literary cultures - Imperialism and the Modernism - Cosmopolitanism and postcolonial literatures - Global literary institutions - from the Little Magazine to the Nobel Prize - Mass media - photography, cinema, and radio broadcasting in the modernist age Exploring the work of writers such as T.S. Eliot, Virginia Woolf, Jean Rhys, Wole Soyinka, Salman Rushdie and critics such as Edward Said, Pascale Casanova, Paul Gilroy, and Gayatri Spivak amongst many others, the book also includes a comprehensive annotated guide to further reading and online resources.
We Speak a Different Tongue: Maverick Voices and Modernity 1890-1939 by Call Number: PN56.M54 W4 2015 YRLISBN: 9781443877022Date: 2015We Speak a Different Tongue: Maverick Voices and Modernity 1890-1939 challenges the critical practice of privileging modernism. In so doing, the volume makes a significant contribution to contemporary debates about re-visioning literary modernism, questioning its canon, and challenging its aesthetic parameters. By utilizing the term modernity rather than modernism, the 16 essays housed in this volume foreground the writers who have been marginalised by both their contemporary modernist writers and literary scholars, while exploring the way in which these authors responded to the tensions, disruptions and challenges of modernity through the expansion of subject matter or through formal innovations that are not always consonant with those associated with modernist experimentation.
East-West Exchange and Late Modernism by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PN56.M54 Q34 2017 YRLISBN: 9780813940663Date: 2017In East-West Exchange and Late Modernism, Zhaoming Qian examines the nature and extent of Asian influence on some of the literary masterpieces of Western late modernism. Focusing on the poets William Carlos Williams, Marianne Moore, and Ezra Pound, Qian relates captivating stories about their interactions with Chinese artists and scholars and shows how these cross-cultural encounters helped ignite a return to their early experimental modes.
Eco-Modernism by Call Number: PN98.E36 E25 2022 YRLISBN: 9781949979855Date: 2023This volume of critical essays provides the first major guide to ecology, environment and nature in literary modernism. It explores the environmental turn and green consciousness in modernist criticism and broadens the boundaries and scope of current ecocritical enquiry. In drawing together contributions from leading and emerging scholars from across the UK and America,Eco-Modernism offers a diverse range of environmental and ecological interpretations of modernist texts and illustrates that ecocriticism can offer fresh and provocative ways of understanding literary modernism.
Modanizumu by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PL782.E8 M59 2008 YRLISBN: 0824863666Date: 2008Remarkably little has been written on the subject of modernism in Japanese fiction. Only recently have the terms "modernism" and "modernist" become part of the standard discourse in English on modern Japanese literature and doubts concerning their authenticity vis-a-vis Western European modernism remain. This volume presents in translation for the first time a collection of twenty-five stories and novellas representative of Japanese authors who worked in the modernist idiom from 1913 to 1938. Its prefatory materials provide a systematic overview of the literary movement's salient features--anti-naturalism, cosmopolitanism, the concept of the double self, and actionism--and describe how modanizumu evolved from its early "jagged edges" into a sophisticated yet popular expression of Japanese urban life in the first half of the twentieth century.
Women Making Modernism by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PN56.M54 W66 2020 YRLISBN: 9780813066172Date: 2020Challenging the tendency of scholars to view women writers of the modernist era as isolated artists who competed with one another for critical and cultural acceptance, Women Making Modernism reveals the robust networks women created and maintained that served as platforms and support for women's literary careers. The essays in this volume highlight both familiar and lesser-known writers including Virginia Woolf, Mina Loy, Dorothy Richardson, Emma Goldman, May Sinclair, and Mary Hutchinson. For these writers, relationships and correspondences with other women were key to navigating a literary culture that not only privileged male voices but also reserved most financial and educational opportunities for men. Their examples show how women's writing communities interconnected to generate a current of energy, innovation, and ambition that was central to the modernist movement.
