Subject Guide
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Selected Images
Girl in a Sailor's Blouse by Amedeo Modigliani, 1918
From The Met's online collections.
Cover of the Fifth Edition of The Weary Blues by Langston Hughes, 1929
The cover for this edition was illustrated by Miguel Covarrubias. From the Smithsonian's online collections.
Hajima City Hall Designed by Junzo Sakakura, 1959
Located in Gifu, Japan. From ARTstor's online collections.
Poem Titled Alle Landschaften Haben by Georg Heym, 1924
Poem by Georg Heym titled Alle Landschaften Haben (All Landscapes Have) on page 14 of Georg Heym: Umbra Vitae (Georg Heym: The Shadow of Life). The book was designed by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and printed by Spamersche Buchdruckerei in Leipzig. From the National Gallery of Art's online collections.
The Pot Plant by Dorrit Black, 1933
From the Museum of New Zealand's online collections.
Welcome
Welcome to the UCLA Library Guide to researching global modernism. The guide focuses on the impact of modernist thought on architecture, art, and literature, largely in the late 19th and 20th centuries. It was created by Arts Library Student Research Assistant Olivia Lindsley.
Below you can find some related subject guides to supplement your research.
Major Online Sources
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
The Routledge Companion to Art and Activism in the Twenty-First Century by ISBN: 9781000802313Date: 2022The Routledge Companion to Art and Activism in the Twenty-First Century brings together a wide range of geographical, cultural, historical, and conceptual perspectives in a single volume of new essays that facilitate a deeper understanding of the field of art activism as it stands today and as it looks towards the future.
Subject Headings
Books are described in the library catalogs using broad subject headings related to topic and sometimes genre or theme. These are a few examples of headings to try out in UC Library Search.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies