General Notes
The UCLA Library has many resources which could potentially be used for genealogy research, but our resources are not comprehensive and are not organized to support genealogy research. In addition, UCLA Library staff must give priority to assisting current UCLA students, faculty, and staff, so we may not have the staff resources to assist genealogy researchers with in-depth questions.
For these reasons, this guide is meant to help you identify other resources available to genealogy researchers in Southern California.
Where to Begin Your Genealogy Research in Southern California
Because UCLA Library does not specialize in supporting genealogical research, we recommend starting your research at one of these institutions, in person or online.
In Person
- Los Angeles FamilySearch Library (Westwood LDS Temple)Located near UCLA at 10741 Santa Monica Boulevard in Los Angeles.
- Los Angeles Public Library — History and Genealogy DepartmentLocated on Lower Level Four of the Tom Bradley Wing at the Central Library in downtown Los Angeles.
- Southern California Genealogical Society and Family Research LibraryLocated at 417 Irving Drive in Burbank, CA.
Online
- Genealogy at Central Library (research guide)A selective guide to genealogical research resources at Los Angeles Public Library's Central Library in downtown Los Angeles.
- Southern California Genealogical Society and Family Research LibraryWebsite for the Southern California Genealogical Society and Family Research Library, with links to research assistance, online resources, the Family Research Library catalog, and more.
- Genealogy: Complete Resource GuideBackgroundChecks.org is one of the leading free resources for accessing public records, running background checks, and helpful guides.
Genealogy Resources in the UCLA Library
This is a selection of genealogical resources available at the UCLA Library. For more resources, try a subject search in the Library Catalog for genealogy and your desired geographical region (United States, England) or group (Chinese, Jews).
Please note: If the resource has a blue key, it is only available to non-UCLA users (including UCLA alumni, emeriti, and retirees) while physically on campus.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of family history research databases, including the US federal census images from 1790 to 1950. Please note there are differences in features and content between Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com subscriptions for individuals.
- Bureau of Land Management — General Land Office RecordsAccess to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present. Also images related to survey plats and field notes, dating back to 1810.
- Castle GardenAn educational project of The Battery Conservancy. This database contains information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened. The records are now part of Ancestry.com
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files.
- Passenger and Immigration Lists Bibliography, 1538-1900A print bibliography by P. William Filby (1988).
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- UCLA Center for Oral History ResearchThe UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. COHR has particularly strong collections in the history of social movements, communities of color, the arts, Los Angeles politics and government, and the history of UCLA.
Biographical Information
History scholars often need reference materials related to biographical information and this information can sometimes be difficult to track down. Here are some other places to start when looking for these materials. Keep in mind that these resources are not comprehensive and feature prominent individuals, so you may not find a lot of your ancestors unless they were significantly influential in their profession, in their government, in high profile historical events, etc. Don't forget to try newspapers that are contemporary to the individual in question.
Please note: If the resource has a blue key, it is only available to non-UCLA users (including UCLA alumni, emeriti, and retirees) while physically on campus.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies of more than 19,000 men and women who have influenced American history. - Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive index of biographical articles and books about major figures, from popular and scholarly sources, 1946 to present.
- Encyclopedia of World Biography, vol 24
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of World Biography, vol 25
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies of British individuals throughout history. - Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon EnglandA database which aims to provide structured information relating to all the recorded inhabitants of England from the late sixth to the late eleventh century.
- World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen.
Some Free Resources on the Web
- FamilySearch.orgFamilySearch is the website of the genealogical arm of the LDS Church. They have digitized and indexed a large amount of primary source material from across the US and around the world, which is available for free online.
- US GenWeb ProjectUS GenWeb provides links to and information about genealogical resources at the state and county levels for the entire US. There is also a World GenWeb which treats every country in the world.
- Vitalrec.comThis is one of many free sites that will give you information and addresses on where to find vital records for each US county.
Genealogy Software
- GenSoftReviewsUser supplied reviews of over 800 genealogy software programs, ranked on a scale of 1 - 5 with comments.
Some Inspiration
Sometimes genealogical research can be frustrating, when you feel that you've hit a brick wall and don't know where to turn next. This selection of TV programs and non-fiction narratives about genealogy might help you feel inspired again—and maybe will give you some research ideas.
- Who Do You Think You Are?Almost every country in the world has their own version of this hit TV show, which explores the heritage of well-known celebrities.
- Finding Your Roots with Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (PBS)Finding Your Roots is similar to Who Do You Think You Are? in that it focuses on the ancestries of the famous but has a slightly more scholarly tone. It also includes more DNA research and work with ethnic/religious minorities.
- Slaves in the Family - Edward Ball (published 1998)A non-fiction account of Edward Ball's research into the lives of both his slave-holding ancestors and their slaves.
- Roots - Alex Haley (published 1976)This ground-breaking work doesn't require much introduction.
- The Lost : a Search for Six of Six Million - Daniel Mendelsohn (published 2006)Daniel Mendelsohn's search for six members of his family who perished in the Holocaust.