Modern Thought at the Clark Library
The William Andrews Clark Memorial Library is one of UCLA's major libraries for rare books and manuscripts, with particular strengths in English literature and history (1641-1800), Oscar Wilde, and fine printing.
This slideshow provides a quick introduction to early editions of books from History of Modern Thought found in the Clark's collection.
Primary Sources Online
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. - The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of books, periodicals, and primary source materials from the period 1460-1945. Focuses on economics, political science, history, and sociology, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation, and manufacturing. - Eighteenth Century Journals, 1685-1835 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of rare newspapers and journals printed between 1685 and 1835 in the UK and colonies, including India, the Caribbean, and Canada, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Includes an index to The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1818.
