Need Help with Your Paper?
Need help finding sources for your paper? Not sure you're expressing yourself clearly? Want some guidance on college writing?
Sign up for a free research consultation in Powell Library. Click here to book your appointment. You can also drop in on the Ground Floor of Powell without an appointment and we will be happy to help you with your research.
Sign up for a free writing consultation at the Undergraduate Writing Center. Click here to book your appointment.
Get Started with an Interdisciplinary Database
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for your research. Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database that indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Not just for the sciences! Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities. Indexes major journals across disciplines with all cited references captured. Through the Web of Science, users can access the three ISI Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Dig Deeper with a Subject Specific Database
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present. - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages. - C19: Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th century books, journals, magazines, official documents, newspapers, and archives. Includes The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Palmer's Index to the Times, and Periodicals Index Online. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC). - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)A program you install on your computer. Already built-in on most mobile devices.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
Finding Full Text
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.