Typography Resources
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, photography, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowHigh-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Now hosted on the JSTOR platform.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Disciplines include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new windowThe Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
From ASCII Art to Comic Sans by Call Number: Arts Library Z250.A2 W34 2023ISBN: 9780262546140Date: 2023From ASCII Art to Comic Sans offers an original vision of the history of typography and computing in the digital age, viewed through the lens of offbeat typography. We often regard text as pure information and typography as a transparent art form without meaning of its own. In this richly illustrated book, however, Karin Wagner offers a fresh perspective that shows how text is always an image that conveys meaning, and how typography, far from being meaningless, has in fact shaped modern visual and material culture in significant ways.
How Many Female Type Designers Do You Know? by Call Number: Arts Library Z250.A2 P66 2020ISBN: 9789493148321Date: 2021This important new book surveys the past and present of women working in typography. The first section looks at the statistics, data and an overview of the field apropos of gender, supplemented with biographies of female type designers that worked in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The second portion of the volume comprises a series of interviews with 14 women that are either currently working as type designers or are in other ways involved in the field of type design. The final part of the book presents a showcase of typefaces designed by women.
Letterforms: Type Design From Past to Future by Call Number: Arts Library Z250 .S163 2018ISBN: 9781631594731Date: 2018An essential text on developing form and style in type design. Includes a history of type and gallery of contemporary styles.
Type Speaks by ISBN: 1419738054Date: 2021Type is the handwriting of the 21st century, lending its expressive voice to the language of all written communication. Type Speaks is the first book to explore type as a medium that conveys emotions, concepts, and ideas, filled with hundreds of new fonts available through digital foundries. Some exude joy, radiate serenity, or jangle the nerves; some sell or persuade or command or seduce.
The Typographic Medium by Call Number: Arts Library Z246 .B7375 2021ISBN: 9780262045858Date: 2021Typography is everywhere and yet widely unnoticed. When we read type, we fail to see type. In this book, Kate Brideau considers typography not as part of "print media" or "digital media" but as a medium of communication itself, able to transcend the life and death of particular technologies. Brideau discusses a range of topics and draws on a wide variety of theoretical work, including phenomenological ideas about comprehension, German media archaeology, and the media and communication theories of Vilem Flusser and others.
Library Call Numbers
Call numbers can also be used to search for books on the library catalog or in the stacks. For typography, related call numbers include:
Practical printing (Includes printing as a business, layout, paper and ink, machinery, type and type founding, electrotyping, desktop publishing, typesetting, and presswork) - Z242.9-264.5
- General works - Z246-247
- Type and type founding - Z250-Z251