UCLA Library
- Arts Library Browsing GuideThe Arts Library Browsing Guide includes information on locating design books and publications in the Arts Library and the UCLA Library Catalog. This includes call numbers for design-related subjects and suggested terms for searching the catalog.
- UCLA Library | UC Library SearchUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the "UCLA Library Catalog" scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. (The UCLA Library Catalog itself does not contain full-text articles or article citations.) Select the "Articles, books, and more" filter to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. Detailed explanatory information is available in the UC Library Search Guide.
Subject Headings
Books are described in the library catalogs using broad subject headings related to topic and sometimes genre or theme. These are a few examples of headings to try out in UC Library Search.
Call Numbers
Each section of the stacks (Stacks, Oversize Stacks, Reference, Oversize Reference, Current Periodicals, etc.) can be browsed by call number, as can the library catalog. Listed below are some key design-related call numbers that can be used to locate relevant books.
Architecture - NA1-9428
Drawing. Design. Illustration - NC1-1940
- General works - NC703-725
- Graphic art materials - NC845-915
- Commercial art. Advertising art - NC997-1003
Decoration and Ornament. Design - NK1160-1590
Furniture - NK2200-2750
Book design - Z116.A3
Printing. General Works- Z246-247
Type and type founding - Z250-Z251
E-Books
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowOnline portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowHandbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site.
