The US Census of Population and Housing
Typical Demographic Statistics
- Population counts
- Race, ancestry, place of birth
- Age
- Sex
In addition to the basic demographic numbers above, many demographic sources also cover socioeconomic subjects such as employment, income, housing, migration, education, health, transportation, veteran and citizenship status, and language.
The US Census of Population and Housing (also known as the Decennial Census) is the most comprehensive source of demographic data for the United States. Quite simply, the Census is huge, and published in a multitude of formats and places. Below is a list of just some of the ways you can access decennial census data.
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)Demographic and economic profiles for all regions of the United States.
- UCLA Social Science Data Archive (part of the UCLA Library Data Science Center)SSDA collection consists of surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries.
- Census Bureau FTP serverLarge database files suitable for statistical analysis and manipulation.
For more detail, consult the following guide...
US Census Catalog
For a complete list of all Census Bureau data publications, consult the Census Catalog. Current product listings are available online, while older volumes are available in print in the Research Library reference collection.
- Census Catalog and Guide1985-1998
- Bureau of the Census Catalog1963-1984
- Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972Single volume compilation
American Community Survey
To fill in the gaps between the main census years, the Census Bureau conducts the annual American Community Survey. The Survey began in 2000 and all reports are available on the census data website (data formerly found on American Factfinder).
The Census also conducts the Current Population Survey in conjunction with the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with reports going back more than 50 years. Recent reports are available online. Older reports in print can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog.
US Census Schedules
"Census schedules" is the term usually used to describe the actual census forms filled in by users and census-takes. By law these are kept private for seventy-two years. After that time, they're available from the National Archives on microfilm.
The UCLA Library has some of the census schedules, mostly for selected counties in California. They can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog. The Library also subscribes to Ancestry Library Edition, which has all of the available schedules online (off-campus access requires UCLA authentication).
For genealogical research, we recommend using the Los Angeles Regional Family History Center, which has comprehensive genealogy resources that go beyond just the census schedules.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of family history research databases, including the US federal census images from 1790 to 1950. Please note there are differences in features and content between Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com subscriptions for individuals.
Censuses from Other Countries
The UCLA Library print collections include censuses from many other countries, which you can find in the UCLA Library Catalog. Search for "[name] census" as "Subject List (start of)". Some sample searches: