Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Do You Need Numbers or Data Sets?
When searching for statistics, this is one of the first questions you should answer. Do you need some numbers to cite in your paper? Or do you need a data set which you plan to analyze with statistical or database software?
The sources listed on this first page are geared toward "looking up numbers" types of questions. If you need a data set, you may want to skip past these to the more detailed sources on other pages. Of course there's no hard and fast line between these two categories. The numbers you need may only be found by querying a large database. And even the simplest groupings of numbers can be put into a spreadsheeet to do further calculations and produce tables or charts which may enhance your data presentation.
Statistical Compilations: the First Place to Look for Numbers
In these tabs are some of the major statistical summaries and compilations that cover general social and economic data. For most simple statistical questions, these compilations will contain the numbers you need. They're also good sources to use to get an idea of the kinds of statistics available.
Hint: In addition to presenting statistics, most of these sources will also tell you where the numbers came from. This can be extremely useful. If the compilation has the types of data you need but you need more detail, you can go back to the original source which may include what you need.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- County and City Data Book: 2007A wide variety of data for all US counties and for cities with a population of 25,000 or more. The 2000 volume is also online, whileprint volumes in the Library extend back to 1949. The main County and City Data Book was only published every five to six years and ended in 2007. Beginning in 1992, annual supplements for the "in between" years were published under the title County and City Extra. These continue to the present.
- State and Metropolitan Area Data BookData for US states and metropolitan areas. Print volumes starting in 1979 were published every three to six years.
- Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more.
- Census Bureau Home PageCensus data covers a vast number of topics. Use the "Index A-Z" link for a complete list.
- Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes statistical publications from the US federal government (American Statistics Index), state governments and non-governmental organizations (Statistical Reference Index), and international intergovernmental organizations like the UN and EU (Index to International Statistics). - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- California Statistical AbstractCompilation of statistics including population, budget, finance, crime, natural resources, etc. Published by the California Department of Finance.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA. - Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes statistical publications from the US federal government (American Statistics Index), state governments and non-governmental organizations (Statistical Reference Index), and international intergovernmental organizations like the UN and EU (Index to International Statistics).
- Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations. - International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A three volume set, one for the Americas, one for Europe, and one for Africa, Asia, and Oceania. - World Bank Data Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog with links to data products from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators (WDI).
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online library of e-books, e-periodicals, and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). - IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new windowAnalysis of finance, development, macroeconomics, poverty reduction, trade, and globalization from the International Monetary Fund. Includes Balance of Payments (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), International Finance Statistics (IFS), and more.
- United Nations Demographic YearbookStatistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis, 1948-present. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.
- United Nations Statistical YearbookEconomic, financial, labor, education, health, and development statistics for all nations. Older print volumes in the Library.
- Europa World Year BookAnnual print series with summary statistics for all countries. For more detailed statistics, see regional series: Africa South of the Sahara; Central and South-eastern Europe; Eastern Europe, Russia, and Central Asia; Far East and Australasia; Middle East and North Africa; South America, Central America, and the Caribbean; South Asia; Western Europe.
- EurostatStatistics on EU countries.
Most nations publish an annual statistical compilation similar to the US Statistical Abstract, as do most state and provincial governments. Titles vary, but are usually something like "statistical abstract," "statistical yearbook," or "statistical handbook" (or equivalent titles in the local language). To find these in the Library (including links to any online editions), search the UCLA Library Catalog for "[name] statistics periodicals" as "Subject List (start of)." Some examples:
Statistics Specialists
For in-depth assistance in finding and using statistical data, UCLA researchers can contact the following specialists who are available by appointment:
- Tim DennisData Science Center
- Jamie JamisonData Science Center
- Joseph YueResearch Library, Librarian for Non-Governmental and International Organization Information, (US) State and Local Government Information
- UCLA Statistical ConsultingOffer drop-in and schedule appointments to undergraduate, graduate, even community users, to assist you with all your data collection and analysis needs