Finding Spectra Online
These are all good starting places for searching spectra. SciFinder and Reaxys, in general, will cover more compounds.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
+700,000 experimental (MS, IR, 13C-NMR, H-NMR) spectra and 23.8 million predicted H-NMR spectra. Please Note: You will need to register for access to SciFinder. You will need to use your @ucla.edu email address. - Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature references for spectra for many of the 11 million organic compounds. Bring up the chemical's substance record, and you'll see Spectroscopic Data as one of the filter options to the left. Limit to the methods you want to view.
Note: no spectra, but references and links to journal articles where you will find spectra.
- SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic CompoundsSpectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR
- NIST Chemistry Webbook16,000 IR spectra, 15,000 MS spectra, and 1,600 UV/Vis spectra
- Properties of Organic CompoundsNumerical MS, UV and IR peaks for 29,000 organic compounds, with references to the handbooks where the spectra can be located. Does not include the actual spectra
- NMRShiftDBSearch for NMR spectra, structures and properties of organic compounds. Also allows for spectrum prediction and submission of 13C, 1H, 15N and 31P NMR shift datasets for peer review
Main Spectra Collections (print)
These print spectra are available for in-library use. Not all spectra is available online.
- Aldrich Library of FT-IR SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC457 .P87 1997 - Aldrich Library of NMR SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QD96 .N8 P68 1983 - Atlas of Spectral Data and Physical Constants for Organic CompoundsBiomedical Library Oversized
QD257.7 .G769a 1975
SEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QD291 .C11 1975 - Evaluated Infrared Reference SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC457 .J667 - Registry of Mass Spectral DataSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC454 .M3 S82 1974
QC454 .M3 S825 1974 - Sadtler Fluorescence SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC477 .S22 - Sadtler Handbook of Infrared SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC457 .S12sa 1978 - Sadtler Handbook of Proton NMR SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QD96 .P7 S126 1978 - Sadtler Raman SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC454 .R36 S22 - Sadtler Standard Carbon-13 NMR SpectraSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC462 .C1 S126s - Sadtler Standard Ultraviolet SpectraAvailable at SRLF, but can be delivered to any UCLA campus library within one business day.
- Tabulation of Infrared Spectral DataSEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC457 .D698 1977
Spectra Collections for Other Compounds
- Sadtler Spectra of Inorganics and Related Compounds (print)SEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QC457 .S12h
Additional Spectroscopy Resources
These resources are additional background sources on techniques, concepts, and instrumentation. Some are print, others are online.
- Interpretation of Organic Spectrae-book introducing analyzing HNMR, CNMR, 2D NMR, Mass and IR spectra. Chapter on strategy, skills and methods on how to identify an unknown compound through a combination of spectra.
- Organic Structure Determination Using 2-D NMR SpectroscopyAn NMR e-book, with 60 2D NMR data sets and 6 chapters of assignment (simple, complex, unknown) problems.
- Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compoundse-book for using spectroscopy to identify organic compounds.
- Structure Determination of Organic Compoundse-book to aid with interpreting molecular spectra for elucidating and confirming the structure of organic compounds.
- WebSpectraAn "electronic workbook" of spectroscopy problems (and answers): H-NMR, C13-NMR and some IR spectra of unknown compounds for students to interpret.
- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometrye-book detailing historical overview, theory, methods and instrumentation, and applications.
- Dean's Analytical Chemistry HandbookDetailed overviews of major analytical methods, including spectroscopy.
Click the "AccessEngineering" link to download the e-book. - Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry (print)Multi-volume encyclopedia covering most analytical methods.
SEL/8270 Boelter Hall Reference
QD71.5 .E5 2000