Research Guides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Reference Sources

Physical and Chemical Properties Data Resources

Aluminum Alloy Database
Knovel's Aluminum Alloy Database is a comprehensive summary of mechanical, physical, and chemical properties of both wrought and a wide variety of types of cast aluminum alloys. The values are "typical," as used in aluminum industry publications, to represent the average or mean and not any statistically calculated values intended for design.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive collection of binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated data.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Metals and metallurgy.

Berkeley Laboratory Isotopes Project
Contains the following information about isotopes: half life, spin, parity, decay mode(s) or abundance.
Chem ID Plus
Dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) produced by the National Library of Medicine.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From CHEMnetBASE, database on common organic compound properties including: physical data, spectral data, and structures.

ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- This link opens in a new window
A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Data on inorganic compounds, inorganic compounds, and pure substances on: physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical.
Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition)
Interactives tables including: heat capacity, thermal, conductivity, and reaction thermodynamics.
more...less...
Also includes:
Equilibrium constants
Density compressibility
Vaporization pressure
Vapor pressure
Thermal expansion
Transport and flow
Electrical properties data
Knovel Property Search
- This link opens in a new window
Select "Property Search" from the Knovel webpage, then search by material or substance name and drag and drop the properties you are interested in.
Landolt-Börnstein
MatWeb: Material Property Data
Database of material properties.
The Materials Project
Provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook
Electronic resources on the following: thermochemical data for organic & small inorganic compounds and reaction thermochemistry for reactions.
more...less...
Also includes compound data for:
IR spectra
Mass spectra
UV/Vis spectra
Gas chromatography data
Electronic and vibrational spectra
Constants of diatomic molecules
Ion energetics data
Termophysical property data
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Physical Reference Data
Various sets of data on the elements including: elemental data index, atomic properties, and physical constants.
more...less...
Also includes:
Atomic spectroscopy data
Molecular spectroscopy data
Atomic data
Molecular data
X-Ray data
Gamma-ray data
Radiation dosimetry data
Nuclear physics data
Condensed matter physics data
Other NIST data
NIST Data Gateway
The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines. The Gateway includes links to selected free online NIST databases as well as to information on NIST databases available for purchase.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (9th ed)
- This link opens in a new window
The 9th edition (2019) of Perry's is the gold standard for chemical engineering information—from the fundamentals to the state of the art.
Physical Properties Source Index (PPSI)
Searchable index by properties including: absolute absorption spectroscopy, absolute lethal concentration, absorbance, and absorption.
Polymers: A Property Database
From CHEMnetBASE, database of polymers' properties including: synonyms, CAS classification, volumetric & calorimetric properties, surface properties & solubility.
more...less...
Also includes:
Transport properties
Mechanical properties
Optical properties
Stability
and references
UC SDS Management System
Manufacturers are always the most reliable sources for SDSs, and the UC system has provided its researchers with UC SDS Resources, a systemwide website created to help locate SDSs and other chemical safety information. In addition, UC SDS Resources allows users to utilize a customized Google search designed to quickly locate an SDS. This resource functions like any regular search engine.
Wolfram Alpha
Computational knowledge engine contains chemical data.
Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide spectrum of substances, materials and their properties (physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental).
Yaws' Handbook of Properties for Environmental and Green Engineering
Contains basic environmental and green properties of hydrocarbons and chemicals that are advantageous in design, operations, research, development, manufacturing and safety for the petroleum, chemical and environmental engineer.

Crystallography Resources

American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals.

Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures.

Crystallography Open Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.

FIZ ICSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ICSD is a comprehensive collection of crystal structure data for solid state inorganic compounds, such as simple salts, silicates, oxides, etc. It contains more than 160,000 entries and covers the literature from 1915 to the present. Search options include empirical formula, ANX formula, mineral names, crystal data, and other standard bibliographic fields.
International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals.

Other data sources in crystallography
The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) has compiled a list of relevant database, both free and fee-based dealing with crystallography. It also provides links to various data gathering agencies and data formats.

WebCSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Structural Database contains 3-D structural data for organic and metal-organic molecules.

Synthesis Resources

Organic Syntheses
Reaxys
more...less...
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature. The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server.
Science of Synthesis/Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations
more...less...
Science of Synthesis covers the whole field of organic chemistry from organometallics to alkanes. It provides some 28,000 generally applicable synthetic methods with more than 250,000 reactions for over 2,700 different kinds of organic compounds.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Chemical Abstracts (1907+), Registry (1957+), and CASREACT (1907+) databases. Requires downloaded client or registration for web version.
E-resources in Chemistry & Biochemistry

Protocols

Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reproducible laboratory protocols and methods in the life and biomedical sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Protocol Exchange.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Archive 2006-2012
Current Protocols (Wiley InterScience)
Biochemistry lab protocols
Methods in Enzymology
via ScienceDirect
Nature Protocols
2008-Present

Periodic Table of Elements

American Chemical Society Periodic Table of Elements
Information on the following: electron configuration, element data, element groups, and plot data.
C&EN: It's Elemental; The Periodic Table
Essays on the elements in the periodic table.
Periodic Table of Elements from Los Alamos National Laboratory
Contains information on the history, isotopes, properties, and handling of elements.
Periodic Table of X-Ray Data
Contains information on the following: edge energies (eV), edge jumps, and florescent yield.
RSC Visual Elements Periodic Table
An interactive periodic table of elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
WebElements: The Periodic Table on the Web
Contains the following for elements of the periodic table: History, contents, uses, and geology.
more...less...
Also includes:
Biology
Compounds
Electronegativity
Bond enthalpies
Lattice energies
Physics
Pictures
Allotropes
Chemistry
Crystal structures
Thermochemistry
Atoms
Atom and ion sizes
Isotropes
NMR
Orbital properties