Image Resources
This thorough guide will assist you in finding images related to your research. For a quick start to your image research, you may search Artstor.
Primary Sources
- Irish Newspaper Archives This link opens in a new windowFull text of many Irish newspapers, including both historical and current content from the 1700s to current day.
- CELT: The Corpus of Electronic TextsThe Free Digital Humanities Resource for Irish history, literature and politics.
- EuroDocs: History of IrelandHistory of Ireland from 1169 to present.
- The National Archives (UK)Archive of material from 1,000 years of history of the UK.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of early women's writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible and women's literate culture in the early modern period.
- UCLA Library Special CollectionsArchives, rare books, manuscripts, photographs, ephemera, audiovisual materials, digital files, cartographic and other primary source materials of a rare or unique nature.
- William Andrews Clark Memorial LibraryLocated in the historic West Adams neighborhood of Los Angeles, UCLA’s Clark Library is a rare book and manuscript library specializing in the study of England and the Continent from the Tudor period through the long eighteenth century. Other subject strengths include Oscar Wilde, book arts and fine press printing, and Montana and the West. The Clark Library is open to anyone who wishes to conduct research with its holdings.
- James Joyce Digital ArchiveThe James Joyce Digital Archive presents the complete compositional histories of Ulysses & Finnegans Wake in an interactive format for scholars, students and general readers.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowAccess to the British Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2016. Includes bills and acts, command papers, House of Commons papers, and more.
- Old Maps OnlineProvides easy access to digitized historical maps from libraries around the world
Cultural Institutions
- National Museum of Ireland CollectionsAncient Irish artifacts, art and industry collections, and folklife collections, among others.
- National Library of Ireland CollectionsManuscripts, photos, and more.
- The British Library Catalogues and CollectionsImage and video resources, archives, and manuscripts.
- The British Museum CollectionThe British Museum has 4 million objects in its collection available for viewing on its website.