Database Questions
-
What types of material does it contain?
-
Can you imagine a use case for this particular database?
-
In this database, what are strategies or tools you would use to narrow your search? To broaden it?
-
Does the database provide full text access to materials?
-
What fields are searchable? For example, “title/abstract,” “geography,” “ISBN.”
-
What can you sort the results by? (e.g relevance,date, etc.)
-
Can you export citations?
-
Any other highlights or things you noticed/learned?
Major Online Sources
These online sources are good places to start your literature-related research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple literary sources, including: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Scroll down to click on Gale's Literary Index, a master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as LION. An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The main database for literature scholarship. Indexes worldwide publications on topics including literature, language, linguistics and folklore from 1923 to the present. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Topical Journals
- Irish Economic and Social HistoryThe journal promotes research and developments in the teaching of economic and social history of Ireland and the Irish overseas, from the Middle Ages to the present day.
- Dublin James Joyce JournalDublin James Joyce Journal is a co-publication of the James Joyce Research Centre at University College Dublin and the National Library of Ireland. It aims to feature interpretations of Joyce's work that make use of archival resources.
- James Joyce QuarterlyJames Joyce Quarterly brings together a wide array of critical and theoretical work focusing on the life, writing, and reception of James Joyce.