Recommended Readings
Looking for articles? Consider searching the following article databases for critical theory articles:
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Looking for a review article or background information? Encyclopedia articles such as those in Oxford Art Online include lists of recommended readings and can direct you to important authors. See for instance:
Additional Recommended books:
Arts Reviewing : a practical guide by Call Number: NX640 .P59 2018 Arts LibraryISBN: 9781138675117Arts Reviewing: A Practical Guide is an accessible introduction to the world of arts criticism. Drawing on professional expertise and a range of cultural reviews from music, film, theatre, visual arts, television and books, Andy Plaice discusses different approaches to arts criticism, with tips on crafting great reviews.
Crits : a student manual by Call Number: N345 .B37 2018 Arts LibraryISBN: 9781350041592A practical guide to help art and design students obtain maximum benefits from the most common method of teaching these subjects in college: the studio critique.
What It Means to Write about Art by Call Number: N7476 .E37 2018 Arts LibraryISBN: 9781941701898"The most comprehensive portrait of art criticism ever assembled, as told by the leading writers of our time." Charts the role of the critic, providing an invaluable resource for aspiring artists and writers alike.
Why Is That Art? by Call Number: N6350 .B27 2017 Arts LibraryISBN: 9780190268848Why is that art? Why is it in an art museum? Who says it's art? Why is it good? Why Is That Art? Introduces students to theories of art through the presentation of contemporary works.
Writing Art and Architecture by Call Number: BH39 .B46 2010 Arts LibraryISBN: 9780980668360Date: (also available as PDF at: Writing Art and Architecture)
Other Relevant Subject Headings
Search the UCLA Library Catalog under the following subjects:
- Art and Philosophy
- Art Criticism
- Art Critics
- Art--Philosophy
- Critical Theory
- Design--Philosophy
- Digital Media--Philosophy
- Feminism and Art
- Feminist Art Criticism
- Film Criticism
- Motion Pictures--Philosophy
- Women art critics