Browsing Tips!
Start by browsing the Reference Shelves (including Oversize Reference). Once you locate relevant titles, browse the stacks and oversize stacks under the same call numbers.
Arts Library Stacks
The Arts Library Reading Room includes the following shelving areas:
- Current Periodicals
- Reference
- Oversize Reference
- Reference Desk
- Selected Film and Television Scripts
- Selected Plays & Monologues
The Arts Library Stacks include four floors of regular size books (tiers 2-5) and two floors of oversize books (tiers 1-2). Oversize books are marked with an * in the Library Catalog.
Double Oversize Books are marked with ** and are shelved on the first tier of stacks.
Permanent Reserves and Course Reserves are kept behind the Circulation Desk.
Cage Collection materials must be requested at the Circulation Desk and are to be used in a secure area behind the desk.
Many older materials, including older editions of annuals and older periodical volumes, are kept in storage at the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF). A valid UCLA Library account number or UCLA Logon ID is needed in order to submit a request for SRLF volumes through the Library Catalog.
Looking for E-books?
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Architecture Library — Bloomsbury This link opens in a new windowThe Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Includes access to the 21st edition of Sir Banister Fletcher's global history of architecture.
- Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new windowThe Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day. Architects are included in the Designer Biographies.
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
Online Periodicals
Follow these links to browse and find online journals:
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category.
- BrowZine Library This link opens in a new window
BrowZine allows browzing of selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide.
- DOAJ This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Library Services
Using the UCLA Libraries:
Your UCLA ID card allows you to check out books from the UCLA Libraries. You can also request books that are shelved in storage (SRLF). You can also request books that are checked out to other borrowers. And if UCLA does not have what you need, you can request books or articles from others libraries using our Interlibrary Loan service. We also welcome purchase recommendations for materials that we do not already own.
Your UCLA Logon ID allows you to access online library resources (such as databases, journals, e-books) from off-campus.