General Online Reference Resources
style="float: right; width: 50%; margin-left: 10px;">
id="s-lg-widget-1445382801443">
Use these online reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, and military history (3 vols.) by Call Number: DS557.7 .E532 1998 (YRL Reference Reading Room and Powell Reading Room Reference) Available onlineISBN: 0874369835The largest and most comprehensive study to date of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history. * Over 900 A-Z entries with extensive cross references after each entry * Biographies of key Vietnamese and American participants * 200 primary source documents * 150 illustrations and 22 maps
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, and military history by Call Number: DS557.7 .E53 2000 (YRL)ISBN: 0195135245Abridged edition of above title.
The Vietnam experience: a concise encyclopedia of American literature, songs, and films by Call Number: DS557.73 .H55 1998 (YRL); SRLFISBN: 0313301832This encyclopedia includes 44 essays, each providing detailed information on an important film, song, or literary work about Vietnam. This book also includes an appendix listing of more than 275 films, songs, and literary works dealing with the war.
Print Historical Dictionaries
Dictionary of the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.7 .D53 1988 (YRL Reference Reading Room)ISBN: 0313249431The focus of this historical dictionary is the deepening US military and political involvement in Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia during the decades from 1945 to 1975.
Historical dictionary of the Vietnam War by Call Number: DS557.7 .M63 2001 (YRL Reference Reading Room)ISBN: 0810841835A resource that deals with both the military and the political aspects of this controversial war, and with the events--especially those from 1954 onward--that led up to it. Its main focus is on Vietnam and the United States, but Laos, Cambodia, and other countries are also covered.
Historical dictionary of the Indochina War (1945-1954): an international and interdisciplinary approach by Call Number: DS553.1 .G67 2012 (YRL)ISBN: 9780824836047This first historical dictionary in English of the Indochina War provides the most comprehensive account to date of one of the most important conflicts of the twentieth century. Over 1,600 entries offer in-depth, expert coverage of the war in all its dimensions.
Other Print Reference Sources
Historical atlas of the Vietnam War by Call Number: * DS557.7 .S93 1995 (YRL Reference Reading Room)ISBN: 0395722233Date: 1995-11-02With more than one hundred four-color maps supplemented by photographs and reconstructions, the Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War provides the first major visualization of that war as well as a penetrating and comprehensive analysis of the conflict based on both U.S. and Vietnamese postwar accounts.- Vietnam War, an almanac byCall Number: DS557.7 .V568 1985 (YRL Reference Reading Room, Powell Reading Room Reference)ISBN: 0911818855Detailed chronology.
