Search Google Books
Library Catalogs
-
UCLA Library Catalog (excluding articles) This link opens in a new windowThe UCLA Library Catalog scope searches holdings of the UCLA Library but does NOT include journal articles.
-
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Digital Collection Portals
These exciting digitization projects are freely available online to researchers.
-
UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
-
Margaret Herrick Library Digital CollectionsFrom the Academy, this series of collections includes personal papers, the Academy Awards collection, photographs, periodicals, sheet music, and more.
-
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
-
USC Libraries Digital CollectionsOnline collections from the University of Southern California, including digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and audio and video recordings.
-
Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France) More than one million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, scores, sound recordings, etc.) at the French National Library.
-
EuropeanaIncludes digitized books, paintings, photographs, recordings and films from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organisations across Europe.
-
French and Francophone Digital Humanities ProjectsIncludes major Francophone digital collections, arranged by country/region.
-
Museo Nazionale del Cinema: Digital CollectionsOnline catalog with some digitized materials (Italian language).
-
EUscreenEUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
-
Getty Research PortalOnline search platform with access to digitized art history texts in the public domain (including art, architecture, material culture, and related fields).
-
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)"The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
-
Cross-search DPLA and EuropeanaOnline app that allows users to simultaneously search the digital collections in the Digital Public Library of America and Europeana.
Selected Online Books
Most individual e-book titles can be found via the UCLA Library Catalog.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowSelected film studies titles from Wiley, including the History of American Film and various companions to directors and genres.
-
ProQuest E-book Central This link opens in a new windowUCLA selectively licenses individual e-book titles from E-book Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UCLA Library Catalog. Formerly called ebrary.
-
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new windowOnline books from UC Press, including many Cinema Studies works.
-
Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
-
Directory of Open Access BooksContains several hundred academic books that are published online and are open access.
-
Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
-
Open Library (Internet Archive) This link opens in a new windowAn open, editable library catalog that offers lending of online books. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. More information on use available online.
-
Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France)Digital library of the Bibliotheque nationale, including thousands of online documents and e-books.
-
Safari Tech Books OnlineUp to date editions online of programming and computer manuals. Includes guidebooks on iMovie, Photoshop, and more.
-
Early and Pre-Cinema Film Brochures (Cinémathèque française)This digitized collection of rare early technical film brochures includes content on the magic lantern, projection, photography, and film stock. From La Cinémathèque française.