Photography

Drawing on a trove of over 3,600 contact sheets featuring 130,000 photographic exposures acquired in 2014 from The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc., the images document Warhol's daily life.

Archive of Malian Photography provides access to preserved & digitized collections of five important photographers in Mali: Mamadou Cissé, Adama Kouyaté, Abdourahmane Sakaly, Malick Sidibé, and Tijani Sitou.

The California Museum of Photography has more than 500,000 pieces in its collection, spanning the history of photography. Under one roof, UCR ARTS brings together the California Museum of Photography (1973) and the Barbara & Art Culver Center of the Arts (2010) located in downtown Riverside, California, 60 miles from Los Angeles.

The Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona, is recognized as one of the world's finest academic art museums and study centers for the history of photography. The Center opened in 1975, following a meeting between the University President John Schaefer and Ansel Adams. Beginning with the archives of five living master photographers—Ansel Adams, Wynn Bullock, Harry Callahan, Aaron Siskind, and Frederick Sommer—the collection has grown to include 270 archival collections.

The George Eastman Museum is located in Rochester, New York, on the estate of George Eastman, the pioneer of popular photography and motion picture film. Founded in 1947 as an independent nonprofit institution, it is the world’s oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives.

The International Center of Photography is the world’s leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Cornell Capa founded ICP in 1974 to champion “concerned photography”—socially and politically minded images that can educate and change the world.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

Established as an independent curatorial department in 1992, The Met's Department of Photographs houses a collection of more than seventy-five thousand works spanning the history of photography from its invention in the 1830s to the present.

The MoCP is the world’s premier college art museum dedicated to photography. As an international hub, we generate ideas and provoke dialogue among students, artists and diverse communities through groundbreaking exhibitions and programming.

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) began collecting modern photography in 1930 and established the department in 1940. The Museum’s holdings of more than 25,000 works constitute one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world.

MOPA's mission is to inspire, educate and engage through the presentation and preservation of photography, film and video.

The Robert Langmuir African American Photograph Collection at Emory University has been digitized in its entirety and is available for individual use, study and research. This extensive collection contains more than 12,000 photographs depicting African American life from as early as the 1840s through the 1970s. Amidst these thousands of historic photographs, researchers will encounter ordinary people as well as well-known names of the times and find photographs in nearly every available format within the historic span.

Photography has been a part of the Smithsonian experience since its earliest days. The Smithsonian Institution Archives is the custodian of over three million images spanning the history of the Institution, its diverse collections, and its involvement in science and cultural heritage since the middle of the 19th century.

As a museum specializing in all aspects of photography, the museum’s activities include collecting, displaying, preserving, studying, and popularizing photography.

The V&A began acquiring photographs in 1852, and its collection is now one of the largest and most important in the world.