Skip to main content

Flash Exhibits in Library Special Collections

The UCLA Library Special Collections Flash Exhibit Program features in-house exhibits that are typically on display for less than two weeks.

Celebrating Our Graduating Seniors: EARTH FROM ABOVE by Hunter Deckelman and Henry Haprov

From May 13 to June 14, we showcase flash exhibits by our graduating seniors.  This is the fifth of five.    

 


 


 

Celebrating Our Graduating Seniors: THE PLAYBOY LIFESTYLE by CRISTINA DELGADO June 3-9

From May 13 to June 14, we showcase flash exhibits by our graduating seniors.  This is the fourth of five.  

 

 

 


Celebrating Our Graduating Seniors: SATANISM by Kenia Gomez May 28 - June 2

From May 13 to June 14, we showcase flash exhibits by our graduating seniors.  This is the third of five.  

 

 


Celebrating Our Graduating Seniors: HOMOSEXUALITY AND WWII by Christopher Lee May 20-26

From May 13 to June 14, we showcase flash exhibits by our graduating seniors.  This is the second of five.  

 


Celebrating Our Graduating Seniors: BDSM by ANNABELLE LEE - May 13-19

From May 13 to June 14, we showcase flash exhibits by our graduating seniors.  This is the first of five.  

 

  

  

 


Mark Thompson Collection (unprocessed)

Yoshie Yoshida Collection (Collection 2350, unprocessed)

Collection of Material about Sado-Masochism, 1950 – 1972 (Collection 1122)

CUNNINGHAM CENTENNIAL

 

 

Cunningham Centennial

In honor of modern dance legend Merce Cunningham’s 100th birthday, April 16th

...

 

Barbara Morgan, Merce Cunningham, "Totem Ancestor", 1942 (printed 1977)

 


Barbara and Willard Morgan papers (Collection 2278, in process)

 

TENNESSEE WILLIAMS by Kuhelika Ghosh

 

 

Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams (1911-1983) was a 20th century American playwright, best known for his drama A Streetcar Named Desire. Williams went beyond the usual playwriting techniques and stretched the limits of drama, becoming one of the founders of the so-called "New Drama." In 1979, four years before his death, Williams was inducted into the American Theater Hall of Fame.

This exhibit features some of Williams’ early writings. It includes a draft of his first full-length play Candles to the Sun, the first sketch of Night of the Iguana, his poem “A Witch and her Daughter,” and his 13 golden rules for new playwrights.

 

 

 

Typescript of Williams’ 13 golden rules for new playwrights, written in 1959 but unpublished.

Typescript of a poem called “A Witch and her Daughter, written by Williams in March 1952. It includes some of his changes to the initial draft.

 

Typescript of Candles to the Sun, Williams' first full-length unpublished play. UCLA Library Special Collections owns the only known manuscript to ever exist, dating 1936.

Typescript of Williams’ first sketch of Night of the Iguana, as performed at Spoleto Arts Festival. The draft was written in 1960 and based on his 1948 short story with the same title.

 


Tennessee Williams papers (Collection 492)

 

Los Angeles : City of Inmates - 2019.3.19 - 3.30

by LSC Public Services undergraduate student assistant, Suzan Bedikian 

Suzan curated this exhibit to fulfill her final requirement for HIST 12A - Inequality: History of Mass Imprisonment, taught by Professor Kathleen Hernandez.

 

In Memoriam: CAROL CHANNING, 1921 - 2019

 

    

 

 

 


 

Mostly Martha: FOUR ARTISTS CAPTURE MARTHA GRAHAM’S MODERN DANCE, October 10-20, 2018

 

Charlotte Trowbridge, Dance Drawings of Martha Graham. New York: Dance Observer, 1945. Charles E. Young Research Library, circulating collection: *GV1785.G7 T7.

 

Merle Armitage, ed. Martha Graham. Los Angeles: M. Armitage, 1937. Library Special Collections, GV1785.G7 A7.

 

Barbara Morgan, [Portrait of Martha Graham with artwork by Carlos Dyer], circa 1935 (undated publicity print). Gelatin silver print. Library Special Collections, Collection 2278: Barbara and Willard Morgan papers: in process. 

 

Barbara Morgan, Martha Graham – Letter to the World, 1940 (undated press print). Gelatin silver print mounted on board. Library Special Collections, Collection 2278: Barbara and Willard Morgan papers: in process. 

 

 

C.A.S.H. for Punks: THE JANET CUNNINGHAM PAPERS

  

         

    

  

  


The Janet Cunningham papers (Collection #2355) are in process and will be available for research early next year.

Armenia! Four Centuries of Print Culture - September 17-30, 2018

Exhibit and text by Lori Dedeyan

Coinciding with the opening of the exhibit Armenia! at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and in time for Armenian Independence Day on September 21st, this Library Special Collections flash exhibit celebrates Armenian print and literary culture by drawing from UCLA’s exceptional holdings of Armenian rare books and manuscripts (items from which were loaned to the Met for Armenia!).       

The examples displayed in this exhibit are taken from the Minasian collection of Armenian early printed books (Collection 1612), which includes volumes printed during the 17th-19th centuries.  Their locations of origin reflect a rich and geographically diverse Armenian community dispersed across Amsterdam, Astrakhan, Calcutta, Constantinople, Jerusalem, London, Moscow, New Julfa (Isfahan), New York, Paris, Serampore, Smyrna (Izmir), St. Petersburg, Trešt, Vagharshapat (Echmiadzin), Venice, and Vienna, among others. 

The largest volume on display is a first edition of one of the first books printed in Armenian letters: a bible printed in Amsterdam in 1666 by Voskan Yerevantsi, by order of Catholicos Hagop IV.   

Arranged around it are other bibles and religious texts from various time periods, including one printed in Constantinople in 1710, with woodcuts bearing the monogram of Armenian artist and printer Grigor Marzuanetsi; another in Smyrna in 1843, printed in Armeno-Turkish (Turkish language transliterated into Armenian script); a third in Venice in 1805; and the smallest, a prayer book, in Calcutta in 1849.  Also displayed in this exhibit is a well-preserved example of the distinctive raised and braided endbands used in Armenian book binding.

More personally, this exhibit includes a book published by my own ancestors, the Dedeyan brothers of Smyrna, who established a printing press in 1852 and began to translate European- predominantly French- novels into Armenian. The volume shown here is a translation of Twenty Years After by Alexandre Dumas, published in 1872-73.  The peripatetic nature of the Armenian community is reflected in the stamps on the title page, which indicate that the book traveled from Smyrna to a bookseller in Constantinople, and ultimately to the Cilicia bookstore in Detroit, Michigan, before ending here at UCLA.   

The decorated initials at the top of this post have been photographed from various books in this collection and colored in for effect.  They can be viewed here: https://hyekirer.tumblr.com/.  More images will be added periodically.

Those interested in learning more about UCLA’s Armenian collections are invited to view this interactive exhibit: http://www.library.ucla.edu/taxonomy/term/840/node/1830 (Click on the StoryMap link.)

Game of Thrones: LITTLE FINGER'S GUIDE TO KING'S LANDING by Devin Fitzgerald

   

ENJOY A MASSAGE AT HOUSE CLEGANE

We all know that the Mountain can ride, but did you also know that he founded his own school of massage? This “wound man” shows the great pains the Clegane boys have taken to relieve all of your aches.

(Gersdorff, Hans von, -1529. Feldtbůch der Wundartzney, 1540.  Biomed Special Collections WZ 240 G323f 1540 – a book about field medicine to treat battle wounds.)

FIND THE NEWEST COSMETICS AT FACES BY PYCELLE

Looking good matters – and Grand Maester Pycelle has just the moisturizers for you. A little wildfire applied daily will get rid of any nasty spots!

(Appier-Hanzelet, Jean, 1596-1647. La pyrotechnie de Hanzelet, Lorrain ou sont représentés… 1630.  Library Special Collections UF144 .A64r, 1630 – a guide to artillery and siege tactics, including technical drawings.)

BROWSE THE RACK AT THREADS BY HOUSE TYRELL

Feel like a Queen (or nearly a King) with the hottest styles designed by House Tyrell. No one in King’s Landing would be caught dead without having had at least one trip to their shop.

(Unknown. Schempart Buech : darin zu finden in was Klaidtung und Manir die Geselschafften sein ausz gelauffen zu Fassnacht... 1600s?  Library Special Collections *170/351 - an illustrated chronicle of the butcher guild's participation in the Fassnacht festival during the years 1449-1539, and 1600, written and compiled in Nuremberg.)

SPEND AN EVENING LEARNING BRAAVOSI WATER DANCE

You’ve probably heard of master Syrio Forel, but now you can learn to dance like him too. At his new studio in Flea Bottom, you can learn to shake it better than the clumsy Westerosi peasant you are!

(Marozzo, Achille, 16th cent. Arte dell' armi di Achille Marozzo Bolognese, 1568.  Library Special Collections U167.5.H3 M3 – an early Italian fencing manual.)

TAKE IN A SHOW IN FRONT OF THE HIGH SEPT

King’s Landing never sleeps, and the people of King’s Landing spend their evenings enjoying a spectacle or two. While some people say theatre is escapist, no one ever escapes the executioners performing every night on the steps of the High Sept.

(Hans Hogenberg. [Tableaux ou histoires diverses qui sont mémorables touchant les guerres, massacres et troubles advenus en France…] 1570s?  Library Special Collections *DC111.3 .T638t – an illustrated album of the French wars of religion. Image of the executions at Amboise.)


Bound manuscripts collection, circa 600-2003 (Collection 170)

All items from UCLA/Charles E. Young Research Library/Library Special Collections