Archival Collections
- Videogame and Computer Game Magazines (Internet Archive)"Magazines related to video games, consoles, computer gaming, and related subjects" from the early/mid 20th century to the present day. This collection is fully online and searchable.
- Historical Game Collection (Online Archive of California)This is a collection of historical games and software available for request owned by Stanford Libraries. The collection includes video games and software for the Sega Genesis 32X, Sega Master System, Nintendo Super Famicom, Sega Saturn (NTSC-J), Nintendo Dsi (NTSC-U/C), Nintendo Family Computer, Atari 5200 Super System, and others. As noted on the archival landing page: "Most of the games and software are accompanied by their packaging and/or user manuals. A few games are preview copies. The collection also includes a few press kits."
Game-Specific Databases
The following list provides a list of Library Databases that can connect you with scholarly content - such as peer reviewed articles - about games and media. A UCLA VPN is required to access these resources when off-campus.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present. - Children's literature and culture. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore a collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times. Showcasing new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’, this resource examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination which went on to fundamentally shape established notions of childhood. - Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mindscape Commons is the world’s first online resource for immersive and interactive content in mental health. It presents and documents nearly 200 VR experiences, as well as some serious games and apps, for teaching and research in counseling, social work, psychology, health sciences, and related programs. - Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Overview articles on American and world popular culture, past and present, are arranged by decade, beginning with 1900, and accompanied by supporting reference articles and media and documents.
Interdisciplinary Databases
The following list provides a list of interdisciplinary Library Databases that can connect you with scholarly content - such as peer reviewed articles - about games and media. These databases are not exclusively related to games, but still contain relevant scholarly content related to games, game cultures, and play. A UCLA VPN is required to access these resources when off-campus.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.