The Grammy Museum
- The Grammy Museum
From the website: "The GRAMMY Museum explores and celebrates the enduring legacies of all forms of music; the creative process; the art and technology of the recording process; and the history of the GRAMMY® Awards, the premier recognition of recorded music accomplishment."
The Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of African American History & Culture (NMAAHC)
- NMAAHC
From the NMAAHC website: "The National Museum of African American History and Culture will be a place where all Americans can learn about the richness and diversity of the African American experience, what it means to their lives and how it helped us shape this nation. A place that transcends the boundaries of race and culture that divide us, and becomes a lens into a story that unites us all."
Archival Collections
- A&M Records CollectionFrom collection description: "The collection consists of sound recordings, manuscript musical arrangements, photographs, correspondence,
promotional materials, posters, gold albums, awards, books and ephemera from just prior to the company's founding in
1962 through its sale to Polygram in 1989 and a few years thereafter, while Moss and Alpert were still affiliated with the
label. The collection is in the midst of being processed. The finding aid will be updated periodically." - Cheryl Keyes Collection, 1975 - 2001From Collection Description: "Cheryl L. Keyes is a Professor in the UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology and specializes in rap/hip-hop music.
This collection consists of unpublished and published sound recordings collected by Cheryl Keyes as part of her research on
African American music; popular music; women's music; popular music theory; gender/cultural theory. The materials
include recordings of interviews, live performances, and rare commercial recordings" - UCLA Center for Oral History ResearchFrom website: "The mission of the UCLA Library's Center for Oral History Research is to document the history of Southern California and the Los Angeles metropolitan region through oral history interviews. In addition to interviews conducted by its own staff, the center accepts donated interviews that enhance its collecting areas. Its staff members also undertake selected grant-funded projects that cover subjects beyond the Southern California area.
The center gives information and advice regarding the practice of oral history to UCLA students, faculty, and staff as well as to the broader Los Angeles community. It offers campus and community workshops and provides instruction on oral history methodology to UCLA classes."