Distinguishing Periodicals
Peer-Reviewed: When a scholarly work is reviewed and vetted by a group of experts in said discipline (e.g., academic journals).
Trade/Popular Periodical: Non peer-reviewed publications typically written by journalists that reflect current trends and news (e.g., newspapers, magazines).
Find Articles/Journals in Online
- Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window E-book collection of reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history of African American music.
This link opens in a new window
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times This link opens in a new window Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001) and updates.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- This link opens in a new window
Notable Journals
The Journal of Musicology by Call Number: ML 1 .J693Date: 1939-Collection: Music Library, Non-Circulating; UCLA online databases. Note: 2011 - 2014/2015 are not available online.
Current Musicology by Call Number: ML 1 .C93Date: 1965-Collection: Music Library, Non-Circulating Collection; UCLA online databases. Note: Only 1965 - 1995 vols. are available online.
Journal of the American Musicological Society by Call Number: ML 27.U5 A456jDate: 1948-Collection: Music Library, Non-Circulating Collection; UCLA online databases. Note: 2011 - 2014/2015 are not available online.
Journal of Music Theory by Call Number: ML 1.J822Date: 1957-From Duke University Press: "The Journal of Music Theory fosters conceptual and technical innovations in abstract, systematic musical thought and cultivates the historical study of musical concepts and compositional techniques. The journal publishes research with important and broad applications in the analysis of music and the history of music theory as well as theoretical or metatheoretical work that engages and stimulates ongoing discourse in the field. "
Genre Specific Periodicals
Blues & Soul & Disco Music Review (Formally known as Blues & Soul)Call Number: Microfilm ML 3470 .J39Date: 1967 -UCLA Library owns 1967 - 1984 issues.
Magazine website: http://www.bluesandsoul.com/reviews/
From Website: "Published 6 times a year, Blues & Soul Magazine covers the latest UK and US urban music info, including; News, charts, reviews, event and clubbing info + our signature world renowned in-depth interviews and editorial on influential artists past and present."The Source: The Magazine of Hip-Hop, Culture & Politics
Call Number: ML 3531 .S68 [Barcode:D0011704244]Date: 1988 -UCLA Library owns issues from 1995 - 2003.
Magazine website: http://thesource.com/