Industry Resources Not Accessible via UCLA
The UCLA Library does not license databases and other online resources that can't be accessed by IP address for the campus community, and that require a unique individual password. Some industry data tools and directories are in this category, including:
- Nielsen reports
- Baseline
- IMDb Pro
- Variety Ultimate
- iSpot.tv
Industry Data Resources (Library Collections)
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.
- Variety Intelligence Platform (VIP +) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing analysis, market research, and data for film, television, and digital entertainment. Includes special reports covering such topics as digital marketing and publishers, streaming, virtual reality, and artificial intelligence. Also includes daily commentary on news and industry trends and corporate analysis.
- International Television & Video Almanac (1956-2014)Includes industry-level data on top yearly primetime programs, top cable networks, and general introductory essays on the state of the industry.
- Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level. - SRDS.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media rates (ad prices) and related data for advertisers. It lists advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation, and other basic information for a broad range of media selling advertising space. SRDS also contains selected demographic and market information for metropolitan areas and counties. Includes Claritas 360, for the study of consumer market segments, which works only with Google Chrome.
- Nielsen Television Index (1954-1965)Housed in Performing Arts Special Collections. Includes program audience estimates.
- Nielsen Report on Television (1977-1979)Broad industry-level report on television audiences in the United States. Does not include program-level information.
- Cable TV Databook (Kagan)Also known as the Kagan Cable TV Financial Databook. The UCLA Library has select print volumes in SRLF storage available for the years: 1986-2000.
Internet Industry Data
Some data sets are readily available online. However, specific demographic data are often only offered by specific companies for a high price, and some historical data can be difficult to locate. Below are some freely available online sites with select industry data.
- Variety.comVariety is one of the most authoritative sources for box office data. However, the online site primarily searches articles instead of data sets. Use the database LexisNexis Academic to also search for articles in Variety and Daily Variety.
- TV by the NumbersIncludes industry news and select data on broadcast and cable television, as well as some new media.
- Nielsen WireNielsen's blog with very select stories and data. A useful source for keeping up with current trends in viewership and new media delivery.
- Hollywood Reporter ChartsThe week's box office, television, and Billboard ratings.
- Futon CriticIncludes recent basic stories and ratings on the television industry.
- Radio's Online History ResourceFull text scans of historical broadcasting magazines in the fields of radio and television. Includes Broadcasting Magazine, Broadcasting Yearbook, Radio Annual, and more.
- Hollywood Writers ReportFrom the Writers' Guild of America, this report "provides new information on the progress of women, minority, and older writers on the television employment front."