Slavery and Abolition
- The Abolition of the Slave TradeFrom the New York Public Library and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Firsthand descriptions of historical characters and events, glimpses of daily life in the army, anecdotes about key events and personages, accounts of sufferings at home, and thousands of other experiences. Includes published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals, and biographies. - Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection searches primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms.
- Digital Library on American SlaveryAn expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South. From UNC Greensboro.
- The Friend of ManDigitized version of an almost complete run of The Friend of Man, an anti-slavery newspaper published in upstate New York, from 1836 - 1842. From Cornell University.
- The Geography of Slavery in VirginiaA digital collection of advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers. From the University of Virginia.
- North American Slave NarrativesCollects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. From UNC Chapel Hill.
- North Carolina Slave NarrativesAll known runaway slave advertisements (more than 2300 items) published in North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to 1840.
- Quakers and SlaveryDigitized materials from the libraries of Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges.
- The Revised Dred Scott DecisionA full-text, searchable resource that represents the full case history of the Dred Scott Case.
- The Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery CollectionDigitized pamphlets from one of the nation's premiere collections on the abolitionist movement in America, at Cornell University.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized documents, maps, and essays concerning the Atlantic slave trade, primarily from British and North American libraries. Includes 18th and 19th-century court records from Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, and North Carolina.
- Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800sMore than 24,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions from the libraries of Millersville University and Dickinson College.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable books, serials, manuscripts, court records, and reference publications. Access available for parts 1-4: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation.
- Slavery and the Courts, 1740-1860This collection consists of 105 library books and manuscripts, totaling approximately 8,700 pages drawn principally from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, with a few from the General Collections.
- Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African DiasporaOver 1,200 images from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery.
- SlaveVoyagesThis site offers three databases on voyages, transactions, and African individuals involved in the trans-Atlantic slave trade.
- Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their StoriesThe recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom
- Uncle Tom's Cabin and American CultureIncludes text of the novel; responses to the novel by the press, African Americans and slavery proponents; and topically-related texts that predate publication of the novel.