General Primary Sources
- African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book CollectionA panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture primarily comprised of two collections in the Library of Congress Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, as well as ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Includes sailing cards, confessions, playbills, menus, music programs, and more. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection.
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the colonial period through the 20th century, and includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Topics encompass a broad spectrum including agriculture, anthropology, art, archaeology, education, family life, fashion, industrialization, literature, medicine, music, photography, politics, religion, science, sport, and temperance. UCLA provides access to Parts I-VII. - American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, and ephemera sheds light on the political, economic, and social history of the United States up until the 20th century. The majority of the collection is unique manuscripts, with special emphasis on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and civil war eras. - Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
- Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow SouthA selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s. From Duke University.
- Images of African Americans from the 19th CenturyA variety of digitized images of individuals and groups from the Schomburg Center at NYPL.