News Resources
Newspapers provide a great source of current information. A few major titles are listed below. You can check the News Research Guide for many more links to news sources.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
Online Journals
These journals and magazines are available online. To get to them, you can click on the link below to the UCLA Library Catalog record and then on the link to the online sites. You will need to be using the Bruin On Line Proxy Server or have the VPN downloaded to your computer. If you are using a Mac, be aware that Safari does not always open a pdf, so you should also have Chrome or Firefox on your computer.
- In These TimesNot all issues are online. For the most complete run, select the Alt-PressWatch link.
Podcasts
Here are some podcasts/radio programs to listen to.
- Belabored (Dissent Magazine)
- KCRW: News & Politics | Radio Programs Streaming Online.
- Apple Podcasts. “Re:Work Radio (UCLA Labor Center)
- The Dig. “The Dig, a Podcast from Jacobin”
- KCRW: There Goes the Neighborhood. “There Goes the Neighborhood: Los Angeles” September 20, 2017.
- Los Angeles Times. “This Is California: The Battle of 187 - a New Podcast from the L.A. Times,” October 15, 2019.
Broadcast News
- TV News Search and BorrowFrom the Internet Archive, a service that allows you to search broadcast news captions since 2009, view and share clips.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
African American Newspapers
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2. - African American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1931 to 2010. Home to the first black correspondent assigned to cover the White House, Atlanta Daily World continues to inform the Atlanta metropolitan community and beyond. It was the first black daily newspaper in the nation in the 20th century.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Baltimore Afro-American was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (including Daily Defender) is included as part of Black Studies Center (1921-2010). Proquest's Chicago Defender content does not include the newspaper's "City Edition," which is currently only available on microfilm.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - 2010. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The major Black newspaper in New York.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1911 to 2010. One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the paper challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1912 to 2001. The oldest continuously published black newspaper in the US. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.