UCLA Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Useful Collections
Here are some print collections that writers find useful.
- English Reading RoomThe Grace M. Hunt Memorial English Reading Room, located in Kaplan Hall, is maintained by the UCLA Department of English. It houses approximately 35,000 non-circulating books and periodical volumes in the fields of British and American literature, as well as reference and interdisciplinary sources needed to support these areas of study.
- Powell Community CollectionsThe Powell Library Community Collections are designed to support and promote student intellectual growth, health and wellbeing, and creativity. Reflecting the diversity of the student population, the collections aim to foster curiosity about the world and empathy for others, while nurturing lifelong reading habits. The collections include recent fiction, zines, and more.
- William Andrews Clark Memorial LibraryLocated in the historic West Adams neighborhood of Los Angeles, UCLA’s Clark Library is a rare book and manuscript library specializing in the study of England and the Continent from the Tudor period through the long eighteenth century. Other subject strengths include Oscar Wilde, book arts and fine press printing, and Montana and the West. The Clark Library is open to anyone who wishes to conduct research with its holdings.
- Special CollectionsThe UCLA Library Special Collections inspires discovery, cultivates knowledge, advances research, and preserves cultural heritage to create a distinctive learning environment for the UCLA community and society at-large. The collections include author papers and manuscripts, historic literary journals, and more.
- Powell and YRL Literature CollectionsLiteratures in English are kept in the PR through PS call number ranges in the Powell and YRL stacks. Browse the shelves for titles and criticism, or search the catalog for a particular book.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Subject encyclopedias can provide background information for settings and characters, or serve as inspiration when writer's block strikes. To access them, click the link above, search for your topic, and follow the links to see where in the UCLA Library the encyclopedia is held. Don't be afraid to ask a librarian for help.
- Artists' BooksThe UCLA Arts Library has an outstanding collection of artists' books. Visit the Arts Library in the Public Affairs Building or contact Robert Gore at rjcgore@library.ucla.edu for more information.
If your book is checked out
If your book is checked out, you can recall it and the library will hold it for you when it is returned. The person who has the book checked out will receive an email telling them that someone else needs the book and the new due date will be 7 days from when the recall request was made.
If your book is in the SRLF
If the book you want is located in the SRLF (the Library's storage facility) you have two choices to retrieve it:
- Visit in person between 1 – 5 p.m. Monday – Friday.
- Using the "request" button in the library catalog, request it to be delivered to a campus library convenient for you. Requests usually take one day to fulfill and you will receive an email when the item is in.
For more details on finding, retrieving, and using items from SRLF, visit the SRLF webpage.