Skip to main content

Powell Community Collections

Information about Powell Library's Community Collections, co-curated by students and student groups.


This guide contains information about Powell Library's Community Collections, including a description of each collection, new and popular titles, and ways to get involved. If you love to read, be sure to stop by Powell's Main Reading Room and take a few items home--or, better yet, help us build the collections!

17333223   15845097   12875026      129650   19114190   17571564

What Are the Community Collections?

The Community Collections are designed to support and promote student intellectual growth, health and wellbeing, and creativity. Reflecting the diversity of the student population, the collections aim to foster curiosity about the world and empathy for others, while nurturing lifelong reading habits.

Currently, the following collections make up the Community Collections:

Even if you're not a member of one of the student groups listed above, there are ways for you to get involved with the collection. Click here for more information!

And, of course, we always welcome suggestions for new titles. If there's a book or zine you want that we don't have, email us!

Student Curated

We work with both student groups and individuals to build our collections. If there's a collection that excites you, or if you're interested in seeing what goes on behind the scenes at Powell, see our Get Involved page for ways that you can become a student curator!

Where Are the Collections?

The Community Collections are located in the Main Reading Room (the room with the painted ceiling) on the second floor of Powell Library. From the front entrance, go up the stairs and head away from the Rotunda. The collections are shelved on the back wall.