Connect from Off-Campus
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access these sites from off-campus using either the UCLA VPN Client or Bruin Online Proxy Server. If you need help setting up your computer, contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu . They answer the phone 24/7 and are very helpful.
NOTE: All campus wireless networks (eduroam, UCLA_WIFI or UCLA_WEB) provide access to online subscription content. If you are using a Mac, you may need to use Chrome or Firefox, not Safari, to read some of the pdf material.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Searching for Scholarly Articles can be intimidating, especially when databases offer so many search options. Below are some resources that you can use to help make it easier.
- Search ExperimentallyRather than trying to construct one perfect search, plan on trying several experimental searches. As you search, seek out diverse perspectives by using a variety of keywords. Look for interdisciplinary perspectives on your topic by trying out your searches in more than one database.
- Finding Scholarly ArticlesFollow this link for a video that helps explains tips and tricks to successfully navigate and search for articles
- Turn Questions into KeywordsHaving trouble finding the right words for your search? Check out this tutorial to help you find just the right words!
Article Databases
This is a select list of available article databases. If you want to find others, go to Databases By Subject and search through your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and gray literature on educational research and practice from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the field of psychology, including articles, books, dissertations, etc. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the field of sociology, including journal articles, books, dissertations, etc. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, including proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Search cited references, authors, titles, subjects.
Newpapers
Newspapers are a good resource for seeing how issues were covered in the contemporary media. You can search for UCLA football (or any other topic) and find 1000s of articles. There are many other news sources, which you can find on the News Research Guide.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from over 2400 U.S. and international sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. You can search for players' names. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches can be limited by ethnic group, e.g., African American/Caribbean/African. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times. Click on Change databases to add other databases, such as the New York Times and search them at the same time.