Skip to main content

Sheet Music in Library Special Collections

This guide will highlight specific features found in the UCLA Library Special Collections Sheet Music Collection. The guide is in process, and will be edited frequently.

Curator, Performing Arts Special Collections

Caroline Cubé's picture
Caroline Cubé

Introduction

Here you will find references to collections and items within collections that pertain generally as well as specifically to women, representation of women, women's issues, etc. 

This section is under construction and will be periodically edited. Be sure to check back frequently for new content.

Women's Physical Appearance

  

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

Women, Marriage, and Relationships

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

Click on highlighted titles to hear a recording of the song.

Mothers

Merna Kennedy with mother  Ally Sheedy and her mother, Charlotte, 1975  Boxer Wally Hall and mother  

Film actress Merna Kennedy          Ally Sheedy and mother, Charlotte, 1975       Boxer Wally Hall and mother,           

& mother, Maude Gernert, 1936       Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive          Florence, 1936                               

Los Angeles Times Photographic                                                                                 Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive

Archive                                                                                                                        

 

Library Special Collections holds a large number of sheet music titles that pertain to mothers.The following is a list of mother related song titles. Unless otherwise indicated, all titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection.

Click on highlighted titles to listen to sound recordings from the UC Santa Barbara Cylinder Archive

Women's Suffrage

         

                                                     Militant Suffrage Song = Weak Little Woman

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

Click on highlighted titles to hear a recording of the song.

Women in the Workplace

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

 

Girl Behind the Counter

Men Afraid of Women

 

    

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

Co-Eds

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

  • At the Wedding of Kitty Co-Ed) (to Jimmy Cadet), 1956, box 766
  • Betty Co-Ed, 1930, box 170, 761, 1400
  • Bryn Mawr Girls, 1901, box 1164
  • Co-Ed, 1914, box 1482
  • Dream Girl of Pi Kappa Alpha, 1954, box 1704
  • Dream Girl of Pi K.A., 1921, box 1704
  • Dream Girl of Theta Chi, 1942, box 1704Co - Ed : March - Two Step
  • Fair Co-Ed, 1927, box 123
  • Hold That Co-Ed, 1938, box 199
  • I'll Dream of That Sweet Co-Ed, 1913, box 1195Betty Co-ed : 6/8 Fox-Trot Song
  • My Co-Ed, 1929, box NSPC 56, 1226
  • My Fraternity Pin, 1933, box 
  • My Phi Bet Girl, 1921, box 565
  • Pretty Co-Ed Has Gone to My Head, box 1405
  • Sweetheart of Sigma Chi, 1912, box 599
  • That Co-Ed Party, box 1418, 1604
  • Vamping a Co-Ed, box 1424

Women in War

All Titles are found in the Sheet Music Collection, col. PASC-M 147 unless otherwise noted.

Click on highlighted titles to hear a recording of the song.