Sciences Librarian
Renee Romero
Contact:
Science and Engineering Library (SEL)
Subjects: Biology & Life Sciences, Psychology
Useful Reference Works
Use the UCLA Library Catalog to find additional reference books. These reference books may provide an overview of your topic, define terms, or list the seminal authors and works in the field.
- ABC-CLIO E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger. UCLA subscribes to a small subset of these materials. - AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Encyclopedia of Physical Sciences and Engineering Information Sources (print)A bibliographic guide to approximately 16,000 citations for publications, organizations, and other sources of information on 425 subjects relating to the physical sciences and engineering
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Knovel LibrarySearch/browse 2500+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.