Research Guides: Bioengineering 165: Bioengineering Ethics: Databases

Databases in Bioengineering

class="box-in-box">

Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or request through interlibrary loan.

See entire list of Article Databases in Science and Engineering here.

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
Combines Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality; Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B); COS Conference Papers Index; Ecology Abstracts; Environment Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Environmental Impact Statements: Digests; Health & Safety Science Abstracts; Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A); Pollution Abstracts; Risk Abstracts; Sustainability Science Abstracts; Toxicology Abstracts; and Water Resources Abstracts.
BIOSIS Previews
Index and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of biology, related fields such as medicine and ecology, and interdisciplinary areas such as biochemistry and biotechnology.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
CQ Press Library
Go to CQ Researcher for in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.

Google Scholar
Broad scholarly literature search. Set Scholar settings to "University of California, Los Angeles - UC-elinks" to connect with library full text.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards.
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Provides access to NASA's current and historical aerospace research and engineering results.

NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service
Provides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
APA PsycInfo
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
PubMed
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
Reaxys
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server.
Crossfire, Beilstein, Gmelin, Patent Chemistry
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n.
E-resources in Chemistry & Biochemistry
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
SPIE Digital Library
Contains more than 275,000 technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings published from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

Key Periodicals

Browse through these selected journals and magazines. To find more, see science and engineering e-journals A-Z by Subject.

Science Magazine
Journals from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, includes the journal Science.

Economist, The (1997 - current)
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.

Time

Newspapers

Los Angeles Times
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1995].
New York Times
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
Wall Street Journal
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].