General Online Reference Sources
What Are Reference Sources?
Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, and so on.
On this page, you will find reference sources specific to sociology and selected related topics.
Use these electronic reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Dictionaries
Click on the title to get to the catalog record. To find more topical dictionaries, search for "sociology dictionaries" as a subject in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Encyclopedias: General Sociology
Click on the title to get to the catalog record for the print or online version. To find more encyclopedias, search for "sociology encyclopedia?" as keyword in the UCLA Library catalog.
Encyclopedia of SociologyOnline, Print at Powell and YRL
Sociology BasicsPrint at Powell
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of SociologyPrint at YRL
21st Century SociologyPrint at YRL
Sociology: The Key ConceptsPrint at YRL
Encyclopedias: Topics in Sociology
Below are selected encyclopedias focusing on specific aspects and topics within sociology.
Dictionary of Medical SociologyPrint in Biomed
The Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of CulturePrint in Powell, YRL
Education and SociologyPrint in YRL
Sociology of ReligionPrint in SRLF
Encyclopedia of AgingPrint in Powell
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and AfricaPrint in Powell
International Encyclopedia of Economic SociologyPrint in YRL
Encyclopedia of Gender and SocietyOnline, Print in Powell
Girl CultureOnline, Print in Powell; YRL
Selected Resources on Research Methodologies
Related Encyclopedias
Because sociology is so highly interdisciplinary, you can find related information in other fields. The following encyclopedias are just some of the subject areas in which you can find sociological information.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues WorldwideAlso available in print at Powell and YRL
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
Also available in print at YRL. - Encyclopedia of Social Problems
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive approach to the field of social problems, utilizing experts from anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
Recommend a Reference Resource
Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have?
- Suggest a Purchase from UCLA LibraryUse this form for Library purchase requests that are separate from instruction use requests for Instructional Media Collections & Services. Choose location by subject.