Online Archive of California (OAC)
Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:
Television
The UCLA Library Special Collections holds a large amount of primary source materials pertaining to television. This guide is intended as a starting place to point researchers to these materials and also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings.
Television Show Titles
The following is a list of television show titles that are represented in Library Special Collections's holdings. The list is in process and will be updated periodically.
Once you have identified a show title in this list, search for that title (in quotes) in the Online Archive of California to locate the specific collection holding those materials. The list indicates if multiple collections hold certain materials, for example, "scripts (2 collections)."
If you don't see the title you are looking for, please contact Library Special Collections Public Services.
Television Movies, Mini-Series and TV Specials Titles
The following is a list of television movies and mini-series titles that are found in Library Special Collections's holdings. The list is in process and will be updated periodically.
Once you have identified a show title, search for that title (in quotes) in the Online Archive of California to locate the specific collection(s) holding those materials.
If you don't see the title you are looking for, please contact Library Special Collections Public Services.
Television Show Collections
These select collections contain materials pertaining to a specific television program. For complete holdings information, consult the Online Archive of California and a Library Special Collections staff member.
- Gene Roddenberry Star Trek Television Series Collection, 1966-1969The collection consists of material related to the television program, Star trek. Includes story outlines, treatments, and various drafts of scripts, shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, photographic lists, budget reports, and memoranda.
- Robert H. Justman Collection of Star Trek Television Series Scripts, 1966-1968Collection consists of original Star Trek scripts. Scripts include production materials such as shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, special photographic effects lists, and credits. Most of the scripts have Justman's name or initials on the front cover and minor annotations or lines in the text.
- Collection of Scripts for the Television Series The Further Adventures of Ellery Queen, 1958-1959The Further Adventures of Ellery Queen was a television program devised and produced by Albert McCleery. The 1958 series was a sixty-minute format and lasted one season. The collection consists primarily of various drafts of scripts, two notebooks with cast lists and salaries for episodes, and billing information.
- Collection of Television Scripts for the Series Hennesey, 1959-1962The television series Hennesey was a situational comedy that aired 1959-1962. The cast featured Jackie Cooper and Abbey Dalton. The collection consists of scripts and production information from the program.
- Collection of Laverne & Shirley television series scripts, 1975-1986Laverne and Shirley was an American television sitcom spin-off of the popular television show Happy Days. The collection consists of 150-plus scripts from the Laverne and Shirley television series (1976-1982). Also included are a small number of scripts from the television show, All is Forgiven.
- Collection of Television Scripts for The Andy Williams Show, 1964-1967Andy Williams started appearing on television in the 1950s. Williams premiered his variety television show in the early 1960s on NBC. The program lasted for several years as one of NBC's top-ranked programs. The collection consists of television scripts from The Andy Williams Show.
- Frances Reid Collection of Television Scripts for the Soap Opera Days of Our Lives, 1978-1988Frances Reid stars in the television soap opera Days of Our Lives. The collection consists of television scripts for the soap opera Days of Our Lives.
- Collection of Radio and Television Scripts for the Series Our Miss Brooks, 1950-1956Our Miss Brooks started on radio in 1948 and was successfully transferred to television beginning in 1952 (it ran on both media, with largely the same cast, for several months in 1952). The series ended in 1956. The program revolved around Connie Brooks, an English teacher at Madison High School. The collection consists of radio and television scripts for the series.
- Collection of Scripts and Production Material for Hallmark Hall of Fame Radio and Television Programs, 1951-1984Sponsored by Hallmark Cards, Inc. to help market greeting cards, Hallmark Hall of Fame started as a CBS radio program, the Hallmark Playhouse (1948). The program presented well-known contemporary and classical literature often portrayed by well-known Hollywood stars. The program made the transition to television in December 1951 and evolved into the Hallmark Hall of Fame. The collection consists of scripts and production material related to both radio and television programs created for Hallmark.
- Stanley Meyer Dragnet papers, 1950-1954Stanley Meyer was a veteran film and television producer, most well known for his collaboration on the radio and television series Dragnet. The collection includes twenty-seven bound volumes containing scripts, photographs, and production information for radio and television productions of Dragnet.
- Elaine Rich script files, bulk 1980-1991Elaine Rich was a television producer whose credits include the television series Charlie's Angels (1979-1980) and Dynasty (1981-1989). The collection consists primarily of scripts and photocopied press clippings for the television series Dynasty.
- George Meyer Simpsons script files, 1990-2004The collection consists of Meyer's scripts files for the The Simpsons (seasons two through six) which may include story notes, outlines, and/or drafts of scripts.
Script Collections
These collections consist of scripts for assorted television programs. For collections consisting of scripts for a particular television program, see "Television Show Collections" in the box above; consult the Online Archive of California, and Library Special Collections staff.
- Meyer Dolinsky Television and Motion Picture Scripts, 1954-1984The collection consists of materials related to various television series and motion pictures contributed to by Meyer Dolinsky. Includes scripts, story ideas, treatments, and drafts. Contains materials for television series such as Cannon (1972-73), Ben Casey (1963), Cagney and Lacey (1982), Coverup (1984), Dr. Kildare (1965), Hawaii Five-O (1969-72), Mr. Novak (1964), Outer Limits (1963), and Space (1959). Contains materials for motion pictures such as As Young As We Were (1958) and Fifth Floor (1980).
- William Gordon Television Scripts, 1961-1965William Gordon directed, produced, or wrote on numerous television shows. The collection consists of bound volumes of scripts related to his career.
- Jack Webb Collection of Scripts for Radio and Television, 1949-1975The collection consists of scripts related to the career of Jack Webb. Contains various radio and television scripts written, directed, produced, or performed by Webb. Includes Dragnet (radio, June 1949-Sept. 1955), Dragnet (television, Dec. 1951-Aug. 1959), The D.A.'s Man (television, Jan.-July 1959), Noah's Ark (television, Sept. 1956-Mar. 1957), Pat Novak For Hire (radio, Feb.-June 1949), The Jack Webb Show (radio, Mar.-July 1947), Pete Kelley's Blues (television, Apr.-July 1959), 77 Sunset Strip (television, July 1963), Jack Webb's True (television, 1961, 1962), and various movies made for television from the 1950s, 60s, and early 70s. Some scripts also include stills and production information. Scripts by various writers including, Frank Burt, Richard Breen, James E. Moser, and John Robinson. Finding aid includes alphabetical and chronological list of programs and writer name index.
- De Forest Research Collection of Television Scripts, 1964-1986The collection consists of scripts for television series and mini-series reviewed by the research firm de Forest Research, Inc. Includes a variety of scripts including, "WKRP in Cincinnati," "St. Elsewhere," "Sanford and Son," "Love Boat," "Young Doctor Kildare," and "Hogans's Heroes." Also includes complete script runs for a number of television series including, "All in the Family," "I Spy," "The Fugitive," and "The Brady Bunch."
- Robert H. Justman Collection of Star Trek Television Series Scripts, 1966-1968Collection consists of original Star Trek scripts. Scripts include production materials such as shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, special photographic effects lists, and credits. Most of the scripts have Justman's name or initials on the front cover and minor annotations or lines in the text.
Actors Collections
- Diahann Carroll papers, ca. 1940s-ca. 2008Over the course of her career, actress and singer Diahann Carroll has been involved in a number of stage, motion picture, and television projects as well a business and philanthropic activities. The bulk of the collection includes musical arrangements, clippings, and photographs documenting assorted stage, motion picture, and television projects. Additionally, there is a small amount of correspondence, scrapbooks, awards, and ephemera.
- David Chow scripts, 1969-1986As an actor, he appeared in motion pictures and television series. Collection consists of motion picture and television scripts including Kung Fu and produced and unproduced motion pictures such as Conquest of the Planet of the Apes, and Frasier the Lovable Lion among others.
- Susan Clark Papers, 1965-1993Susan Clark was a motion picture and television actress. She may be best known for her role as Katherine on the television series Webster. The bulk of the collection consists of scripts from the television series Webster. Additionally there are scripts representing her work on television movies such as The Dark Tower (released as Night Moves) and Skullduggery as well guest appearances on popular television series such as Columbo and Marcus Welby, M.D.
- Phyllis Diller papers, 1934-2011This collection includes business papers, correspondence, sheet music, media, and memorabilia from the private collection of comedian and actress Phyllis Diller. Diller broke ground as one of the first and most prominent woman comedians through her stand-up act, films, television appearances, books, and records. Post-retirement in 2002, Diller wrote an autobiography titled Like a Lampshade in a Whorehouse: My Life in Comedy (2005), turned her hobby of drawing and painting into another career, and has continued to make appearances on television and in film.
- Howard Duff CollectionThis collection contains a vast array of materials related to the life and career of actor Howard Duff. The majority of the collection consists of film and television scripts. Also included are photographs, both personal and professional, radio sound recordings, correspondence, legal records, theater ephemera, military service materials, and sketches by Duff. Of particular interest are oral history transcripts, Duff's personal items including a wallet, make-up kit, passport, and eyeglasses, as well as materials related to Duff's first marriage to actress Ida Lupino.
- Julia Duffy papers, 1980-2008; (bulk 1986-1990)Julia Duffy is a television, motion picture, and stage actress who is best known for her portrayal of Stephanie Vanderkellen on the television show Newhart. The collection consists of various draft scripts for television and motion picture projects in which Duffy was involved. Absent from the collection is material pertaining to Duffy's stage career.
- Lou Frizzell Papers, 1930s-1970sCharacter actor Lou Frizzell appeared in numerous stage productions, television shows, and motion pictures between the 1930s-1970s. The collection consists of scripts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed materials, and music related to his career.
- Paul Hartman Papers, 1935-1965Paul Hartman (1910-1973) was born in San Francisco, California. He was a dancer, actor, magician, and singer appearing in vaudeville, the theater, film, and television. The collection contains correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, diaries, clippings, programs, sheet music, books, pamphlets, and memorabilia of Paul Hartman and family members.
- Carolyn Jones Papers, 1953-1965Actress Carolyn Jones was best known for her role as the ghoulish Morticia in the television series The Addams Family. The collection consists of scripts and scrapbooks related to her acting career.
- Shirley Jones papers, 1942-1980Actress and singer Shirley Jones has appeared in movies like Oklahoma!, The Music Man, and Carousel, and is well known for her role as Shirley Partridge on the television show, The Partridge Family. The collection consists of television scripts, screenplays for produced and unproduced motion pictures, and stage plays related to Jones's career.
- Allyn Joslyn papers, 1920s-1970sVersatile character actor Allyn Joslyn's acting career spanned from the 1920s to the 1970s. The collection documents Joslyn's professional accomplishments as an actor and entertainer, and includes scripts for motion pictures, television, radio, and stage; press clippings focused on Joslyn's career; photographs (mainly stills) from various film, television, and stage productions; and a small amount of correspondence and ephemera.
- Steven Keats scripts, 1973-1985Steven Keats was born in New York, 1945. He graduated from Manhattan's High School for the Performing Arts and then served in Viet Nam (1965-1966) before attending the Yale School of Drama and Montclair State College. Keats made his Broadway debut in the second cast of Oh! Calcutta (1970). His film roles include Hester Street, Death Wish, and Black Sunday. His television roles include parts in The Awakening Land and The Executioner's Song. Keats died May 1994 of an apparent suicide.
- Nancy Malone papers, ca. 1946-2000sNancy Malone began her career at the age of six, modeling and appearing on live radio and television programs. She went on to become an accomplished actor, director, and producer and was a co-founder of Women in Film, the nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting women's roles within the entertainment industry. The collection consists of material representing Malone's involvement in various projects as an actress, director, and producer, her association with Women in Film, her contributions to the advancement of the entertainment community, and her various achievements outside of the industry.
- Todd Mason papers, 1967-1981There is little information available about Todd Mason. During his career, he worked as an actor, did voiceovers, and was a newspaper writer. From 1968-1975 Mason was an associate of Mike Connors and worked for the television series Mannix. The collection consists of writings, photographs, correspondence, and audio cassette recordings related to his career.
- Jay Riley papers, 1959-1988Jay Riley was an African American actor who started his career in 1932. He appeared in Broadway productions and also found roles in motion pictures and television. The collection consists of script material, photographs, and a small amount of biographical information, press clippings, ephemera, books, and audiovisual materials related to Riley’s career.
- Ann Sothern papers, 1954-1961The collection consists of material related to the career of actress Ann Sothern. Includes scripts, business records, and production material for The Ann Sothern Show, along with correspondence, proposals for television series and pilots, production records for summer stock and night club acts, handwritten scores, and sheet music. Also includes a small number of audio recordings, photographs, and one scrapbook.
- George Spaulding Papers, 1913-1940George Spaulding (1881-1959) was a screen, stage, radio, and television actor, as well as a stage producer and playwright. The collection consists of theater programs, mementos, and a scrapbook relating to Spaulding's acting career.
Television Producers Collections
Collections listed here pertain to the papers of specific television producers.
- Ralph Edwards Productions Production Records 1940-The collection consists of materials pertaining to the various Ralph Edwards Productions projects such as Truth or Consequences, This is Your Life, and Name That Tune. The finding aid will be updated as the collection is processed.
- Don Fedderson Productions Collection of Television Production Material, 1955-1972The collection consists of material for 15 television series related to Don Fedderson Productions. Includes various versions of scripts (bound and unbound), production material, press releases, clippings, stills, negatives, color transparencies, and slides. Television programs include "The Betty White Show," "Date with the Angels," "Do You Trust Your Wife," "Family Affair," "My Three Sons," and "Millionaire."
- Larry Gelbart Papers, 1940-The collection consists of material related to the career of writer and producer, Larry Gelbart. Includes scripts, treatments, production material, scrapbooks, clippings, correspondence, photographs, and video and audio tapes. Contains material from radio, television, theater, and motion picture productionssuch as "City Of Angels" (Stage), "The Bob Hope Show" (Radio), "A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum" (stage), "M*A*S*H" (television), and "Tootsie" (motion picture).
- Bob Henry papers, 1969-1974Bob Henry was a television producer, director, and writer who was best known for his work on variety television programs. Collection consists of annotated scripts and production material for television programs including the Flip Wilson Show.
- Steve Pritzker Papers, 1967-1986Steve Pritzker was a writer and producer whose credits include the television series Room 222, Friends and Lovers, and Silver Spoons. Collection consists of television scripts and production material related to Pritzker's career.
- Lawrence Turman Papers, 1960-1968Lawrence Turman (1926- ) was born in Los Angeles, California and was a independent producer. The collection consists of scripts, drafts, and related materials for eleven of Turman's films, including The Graduate.
Television Writer Collections
- Gerald Drayson Adams scripts, ca.1949-ca. 1960sGerald Drayson Adams was a film and television writer. Among his credits are the films Dead Reckoning and Kissin Cousins and the television series Maverick. The collection consists of screenplays, teleplays, treatments, and other writings for what appear to be movie and television projects related to Adam's career.
- Stephen Kandel papers, 1958-1987Stephen Kandel is a prolific television writer whose credits include television and motion pictures. The collection consists of television and motion picture scripts including television programs such as Sea Hunt; television movies such as Broken Promises; and motion pictures such as Battle of the Coral Sea.
- Anthony and Nancy Lawrence papers, ca. 1960-ca. 1980Anthony and Nancy Lawrence were involved in a variety of television projects (ca. 1960s-1980s). The collection reflects their involvement as writers and producers in the television industry and includes files of various script drafts, story outlines, and concepts for what appears to be both produced and unproduced television programming. Additionally there is manuscript material for a novel by the Lawrences, titled Kisses from the Wolf.
- Rod Serling papers, 1945-1969Rodman Edward Serling (1924-1975) wrote teleplays, screenplays, and many of the scripts for The Twilight Zone (1959-65). He also won 6 Emmy awards. The collection consists of scripts for films and television, including scripts for Serling's television program, The Twilight Zone. Also includes correspondence and business records primarily from 1966-1968.
Network Collections
- ABC Television Network scripts and production material for television, 1954-1974The collection consists of materials related to the production, promotion and/or programming activities of television shows aired on the American Broadcasting Company from approximately 1954-1974.
Television Music Collections
- Jeff Alexander Television, Radio, and Motion Picture Music Collection, 1943-1970The collection consists of holographs and/or ozalid copies of musical sketches for TV commercials, radio programs; television shows, and various television specials, and holographs or copies of motion picture scores. Also included are additional manuscript scores, framed tributes, awards, letters of recognition, photographs with personalities, drawings, and sound recordings.
- John Davidson Collection of Musical Arrangements for Television, 1964-1974This collection consists of manuscripts or copies of musical arrangements for Davidson's television show.
- Herschel Burke Gilbert Collection of Motion Picture and Television Music 1946-1969The collection consists of manuscript scores (holographs or copies) and open reel tapes of music composed by Herschel Gilbert for television series and motion pictures, and includes some related materials such as parts, cues, lyrics sheets, and sketches.
- Bernard Herrmann Collection of Music for Film, Television, and Radio Productions, 1935-1969The collection consists of manuscripts, ozalid masters and copies, scores and parts of radio, television, and film music. Includes arrangements used in CBS Crime Classics radio show and music from the following films: Battle of Neretva, Jason and the Argonauts, The Kentuckian, Marnie, North by Northwest, Psycho, The Snows of Kilimanjaro, and The Trouble with Harry. Also includes selections from Herrmann's Opera, Wuthering Heights, and his Nocturne and Scherzo for orchestra.
- Vic Mizzy Film and Television Music Collection Approximately 1963-2004The collection consists of Vic Mizzy musical scores written for television shows, most notably the Addams Family and Green Acres. Also, scores for three feature films, and two television movies. Six CD sound recordings are in the collection, including the New Spiderman Theme written for the DVD release of the film Spiderman 2. The collection is in the midst of being processed and the finding aid will be updated periodically.
Visual Effects, Art Director, Production Designer Collections
- Dan Curry Papers, 1967-Dan Curry, born Daniel F. Curry, is an Emmy Award-winning fine artist and filmmaker. He is best known --- and has won seven Emmy awards for --- his work as Visual Effects Producer of Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Voyager, and Star Trek: Enterprise. This collection documents Curry’s work as visual effects producer of these series, as well as his work on other motion picture and television projects. The bulk of the collection dates from 1987 to 1992 and includes collected screenplays, montage storyboards, memos, recorded material, and Curry’s personal notes and hand-drawn illustrations.
- George Jenkins PapersCollection consists of materials related to the professional career of production designer and art director George Jenkins. Includes research material, sketches, and floor plans. Research materials consist of location photographs, scripts, schedules, notes, color samples, and budget records. Sketches include original drawings in pencil, charcoal, and watercolor of scenes and sets. Floor plans include blueprints of stage sets built for film or television productions, or map out existing buildings including furniture details, elevations, and continuity sketches. Includes materials for productions such as 1776 (1972), All the President's Men (1976), Best Years of Our Lives (1946), Funny Lady (1975), Music with Mary Martin (TV, 1959), and The New Revue (TV, 1953-54).
- Sidney Z. Litwack Papers, 1972-1979Collection consists of various drafts of television scripts related to the career of art director Sydney Z. Litwack. The bulk of the scripts are for the television series Lou Grant (1977-78). Additionally, there are teleplays, occasional art direction notes, and production information.
- Robert Emmet Smith Papers, 1938-1974The collection consists of material related to the career of art director and production designer Robert Emmet (Bob) Smith. Included are original artist's blueprints and sketches, location photographs and stills, and scripts primarily for motion picture projects along with materials representing television projects, and a small amount of items from unproduced and unidentified projects. Among the motion titles represented are A Big Hand for the Little Lady (1966), The Flim Flam Man (1967), Fool Killer (1965), Hombre (1967), Operation Petticoat (1959), and Skidoo (1968), among others.
- Edward "Ted" Smith PapersThe Robert Emmet Smith Papers contains a small amount of materials related to Smith's father, art director Edward "Ted" Smith. Included are scripts, what appear to be research photographs, set stills, photocopies, and reproductions of storyboards. Among the projects represented are Action in the North Atlanti, Captains for the Clouds, and Gentleman Jim.
Television Materials in Other Collections
- Terrence O'Flaherty PapersTerrence O'Flaherty worked as television critic for the San Francisco Chronicle from 1952-1986. The bulk of the collection consists of television stills and promotional material collected by O'Flaherty during the course of his 37-year journalistic career. Also included are scrapbooks documenting his newspaper columns, subject files containing research materials, and a small amount of correspondence and other writings by O'Flaherty. Included in the collection are: materials for TV awards programs, news programs, sporting events, Academy Awards, network press releases, CBS Reports scripts, film and television periodicals, reports on topics related to film and television (i.e. violence in television), program schedules.