Political Science 191H: Research Design Seminar for Honors Thesis

A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.

Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles.

Bibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences.

Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.

Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available.

Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.

Full-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.

NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.

Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.

The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.

Indexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.

Digest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.

World news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.

Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2016].

Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.

Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current.

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue as the Daily Dramatic Chronicle in 1865 to 1922.

Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].

Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2021]

Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].

Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune [1849-2014]. 

The Atlanta Constitution offers full page and article images with searchable full text from 1868-1984. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Includes searching and full text of the following newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Coloured American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder.

Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.