Indexes to Political Science Journal Articles and Policy Papers
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
-
EconLit This link opens in a new windowThe fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics.
-
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
-
Center for Security Studies (ETH Zurich University)A one-stop information service in the fields of international relations and security. Among the services offered are: an annotated links library, a limited area search tool (ISN LASE), and a selection of resources on current world affairs.
-
RAND Publications This link opens in a new windowSearch the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.
-
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990).
-
Web of Science (Citation Index)Search for references cited by a group of core/well established journals (see Journal Citation Report for journal titles included each year) as well as books and proceedings selected by ISI/Thomson Reuters.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch for references cited by a group of core/well established journals (see Journal Citation Report for journal titles included each year) as well as books and proceedings selected by ISI/Thomson Reuters.
-
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
Other Sources
-
by subject or geographical/cultural regionsNote that there are many other databases that cover scholarly sources by subject/topic and by geographical/cultural regions. Please contact your librarian for specific recommendation based on your research topics or browse through selected sources listed at http://guides.library.ucla.edu/databases-by-subject
Scholarly Books
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Searching Collection of Ebooks by Publisher
Besides search Google Books and our catalog for ebooks, you may also be interested in searching these publishers site where we have purchased quite a few ebooks from directly.
-
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowE-books from Oxford University Press. UCLA subscribes to only some titles, mostly in the fields of economics and finance, history, law, philosophy, political science, and religion.
Cited Reference Search
-
Web of Science (Cited Reference Search)Search for references cited by a group of core/well established journals (see Journal Citation Report for titles included each year).
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick "Related articles" or "Cited by" under the search result to explore similar articles. Note that there may be some overlap between Google Scholar and Google Books search results.
-
other databasesMany library licensed databases also offer the option to search for references that may have been included but coverage varies.