Governmental Sources
-
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. UCLA Library has selected access that includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, and CQ Magazine (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge).
-
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
-
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new windowU.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable database of legal periodicals and other documents. Includes Foreign Relations of the United States.
-
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowMore than 80,000 declassified documents in collections such as Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Iraqgate, Japan and the US, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, Presidential Directives, obtained through of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
-
U.S. Declassified Documents (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowCollection of over 70,000 primary source government documents, from the post-WWII period through the 1970's. Contains declassified documents from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and a host of other agencies concerning major domestic and international events of the post-World War II era. Formerly known as Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS).
Additional Census/Demographic Sources
-
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census (Second Edition)Available online.
Poll, Election, Vote Statistics
-
CQ Voting and Elections CollectionDatabase about the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and state governors. The database is divided into six categories: presidential elections, congressional elections, gubernatorial elections, campaign and election process, political parties, and voters and demographics.
Indexes to Statistics and Data Sources
-
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Large archive of surveys useful in secondary analysis and quantitative research. Includes political and election studies, education studies, population research, economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries worldwide. Searches of holdings are possible using author, title, keyword, or study number. For assistance, ask at the Data Science Center.
-
UCLA Social Science Data Archive (part of the UCLA Library Data Science Center)SSDA collection consists of surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries.
-
Data.govIncludes some PACs data
-
Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more.
-
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Online edition of a three volume set, covering the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
Comparative/IR Data Sets
Contact Joseph for access to the following data sets that is not hyperlinked:
-
Cross-National Time Series Data Archive 1815-1973A longitudinal national data series for 167 nations. The present dataset represents an expansion both of temporal coverage and of substantive variable categories from the earlier CROSS POLITY TIME SERIES (ICPSR 5002) by the Center for Comparative Political Research, State University of New York (Binghamton). General areas included among the variables now available are demographic, social, political, and economic topics. Cases in the data collection represent nation-year observations.
-
International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE)Description of data set is at http://vinyardsoftware.com/researchprojectsusingvinyardproducts.html
Related biographical entries of terrorists is available in ebook format -
ICRG (International country risk guide) Researcher's Datasets Table 3 B Political RiskIncludes international country risk group (ICRG) political risk data for 140 countries, monthly from 1980, as well as macroeconomic data and Political Risk Services (PRS) forecasting. The ICRG risk data include measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, and other metrics. The political risk forecasting section (PRS) provides country ratings on debt, investment risk, exchange controls, trade restrictions, and domestic economic problems. You will need to login with your UCLA ID and password to access this database.